What’s Going On?

Amunet Trujillo: She’s there in pretty good time, ringing the bell and praying to god that Sarita is the one that answers the door.

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: The door is actually answered by Lucille, the Hispanic housekeeper who takes care of the place. She looks Amy over and tells her that Miss Sarita is in the garage, clanking about with something, and directs her how to get there.

Amunet Trujillo: Better than she expected, and she makes her way to the garage to lean in the doorway, watching her sister.

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: The Bitchmobile is in the garage at the moment, looking insanely out of place next to the sports bike and the Bentley that are sitting in there as well. Truth be told, Sarita usually partks her vehicle on the street so that she doesn’t have to worry about garage doors or the like. Today though, when Amy comes in, she sees Sarita…or rather, half of her…sticking out from underneath the van. Working on her car is a calming thing for the Strider, and it’s something that she enjoys doing. And clearly, now is one of those times that she’s indulging.

Amunet Trujillo: She comes over and sits on the floor, close enough that she can hand Sar any tools she might need. “Everything looking okay?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Yeah…” She said it semi-grumblingly, reaching up to tighten a bolt in the undercariiage. “As it turns out when I went out driving the other night, I banged up the bottom of the poor girl a little bit. Nothing bad, just threw a few things out of whack.”

Amunet Trujillo: “You shouldn’t have been driving.” Understatement much? “What the fuck was that about, anyway?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “I was sober when I was driving, Amy. Just fuckin’ exhausted.” She pushes out from under the van, frowning. “I…got a little fucked-up in the head the night before.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Why?” Her knees are drawn up under her chin, arms wrapped around her shins.

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She leans back on the van, running a hand through her hair with a frown. “Kate, Adara and I were on guard duty and got sent out to deal with a threat. Couple Spirals, no biggie. “And then…this robot thing popped up. Some corrupted Weaver shit. We were kicking its ass, and it sent out some kind of mental kablooey. Showed me all sorts of shit that might have been.” She shivers, looking off at a spot on the wall. “It really fucked me up.”

Amunet Trujillo: She chews her bottom lip for a second. “What kind of shit?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Bad shit.” She swallows hard. “Basically, you getting all sorts of fucked up and then some.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Nothing is going to happen to me, Sar.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “No, probably not.” She nods, frowning slightly. “But it could have.”

A long pause, and she shakes her head. “Anyway. I’ve been having nightmares about it all week. Haven’t been able to get barely any sleep. I just…wasn’t ready for that on Thursday, so I found a place to park and tried to drink my way into not having any dreams. Unfortunately for you, my phone was still in reach.”

Amunet Trujillo: She scoots closer, leaning half on the van and half onto her sister. “You sounded pretty fucking panicked. And you threatened Stefan.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She sighs, counterleaning. “I don’t even remember any of that. I barely remember calling you.”

Amunet Trujillo: “I didn’t figure you would. You haven’t been that drunk in a long time”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “No…no, I haven’t.” She frowns. “Lukas seemed worried that I’d gotten that drunk, to be honest.”

Amunet Trujillo: “I don’t blame him.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “I know. It wasn’t any kind of alcoholic shit though. You know me better than that.

Amunet Trujillo: “I know. As long as you don’t start making a habit of it, you know?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Christ, I hope not. The sooner these fucking dreams end, the better.”

Amunet Trujillo: “How many have you had?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Nightmares? At least one or two a night.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Why the fuck are you not taking something to knock your ass out?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Because drinking myself into non-dreaming didn’t work.”

Amunet Trujillo: “So I’m assuming that smoking it out doesn’t work either?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She snorts and chuckles. “Jesus, I wish.”

Amunet Trujillo: She reaches up to pet Sar’s hair. “You want to come stay at the condo? We can slumber party it for a couple nights.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She thinks about it, frowning. “Maybe. I don’t know. Can Sparky the WonderTheurge deal with random screaming in the night?”

Amunet Trujillo: “What the fuck was that for?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “What?” She frowns. “I’m saying that I’m waking up screaming, Amy. Jesus.”

Amunet Trujillo: She scowls but lets it go. “It won’t be a big deal.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Hey, the day I stop giving your significant others funny pet names is the day I stop breathing.” A faint smile. She’s trying.

Amunet Trujillo: “Other. Singular now.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Other.” She nods. “Sorry.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Nothing to be sorry for. I don’t expect you to be any more used to it than I am”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Sparky the WonderTheurge isn’t too bad of a name, though. Ya gotta admit.”

Amunet Trujillo: She laughs softly “Yeah. Better than some of the other ones you’ve come up with.” She sits up a little, watching her for a moment. “All the shit that happened…. you know it’s not your fault, right?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She frowns. “Maybe. I could have prevented it, though. In part, at the very least.”

Amunet Trujillo: “How?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Trusted my instincts and said ‘Fuck you’ to the idea of you being involved with Leon. Not let Hunter and John get me so damn turned around that I bought into the idea that Kate would have given a shit whether you guys were involved or not. There’s two off the top of my head.”

Amunet Trujillo: “You know that unless you threw a fit, I would have probably been with Leon anyway. And do your really think for a second she wouldn’t have thrown a shit fit if she’d known? People still would, even though he’s gone.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Yeah, I do. I’ve spoken with them about it. They may not have been lining up to cheer, but it was no one’s business but yours, his and mine as your Elder.”

Amunet Trujillo: She looks struck, teeth catching her bottom lip, voice very small. “Oh.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She winces. “Shit.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Well. That would have changed things…

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “I’m sorry, Amy. Yeah, I only realized this after the fact. So it is my fault. I should have known better.”

Amunet Trujillo: “How would you know better? He was right, if this was any other Sept. They never would have let us just be together anywhere else”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Because if nothing else, I should have done the research. Checked Kate out, gotten a better read. I owed you that much.”

Amunet Trujillo: “He wasn’t even sure he wanted to be with me until after the Thunderwyrm thing anyway. And I didn’t really mind hiding out those couple of days before everything went to shit.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “There are things I could have done, though. That’s the point.”

Amunet Trujillo: “There are things I could have done though too. I could have asked you to check it out. I could have gotten my head out of my ass and stopped fighting Hunter so bad earlier. I could have just backed the fuck off of him.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She shrugs. “I’m just saying. You know?”

Amunet Trujillo: “And I’m just saying that if you keep blaming yourself for my dumbshit decisions, you’re in for a long, sad life”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She chuckles slightly at that. “Oh. Yeah, so by the by. Tell your mancandy that Simon might be looking him up. Something about you directly challenging him or some shit. I told him I’d talk to you…blah blah blah…but that he should deal with Stefan.”

Amunet Trujillo: She looks confused for a second, then rolls her eyes. “Why, because I don’t cower in his presence and pointed out that he’s short sighted as fuck?

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Hell if I know. He didn’t tell me specifics.”

Amunet Trujillo: “What a bitch” She leans her head on Sarita’s shoulder again, reaching for her hand. “We went to Madison.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She raises an eyebrow. “Oh yeah?”

Amunet Trujillo: “Yeah. I wanted to see, you know? Just what it was like.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “So?” She leans against Amy. “What was it like?”

Amunet Trujillo: “It’s nice there. Smaller” She’s quiet for a long moment “I’m glad we didn’t go there.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Yeah.” She nods a little bit. “Me, too.”

Amunet Trujillo: “I almost had you come get me. I was going to talk you into just driving to the west coast and not looking back.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She frowns. “I might have gone, that night.”

Amunet Trujillo: “I was pretty sure you would have.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Good thing we didn’t, then.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Stefan would have freaked out”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “My pack would have, too.”

Amunet Trujillo: “He’s not going to hurt me. I know that everybody thinks he’s some kind of freak, but I know without question that he loves me and that I’m completely safe with him.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She nods a little bit, looking down. “I trust you on that.”

Amunet Trujillo: “He’s the only other one that I’ve ever been sure about”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She smiles, just a little, at that. “Yeah?”

Amunet Trujillo: “Can I tell you something? Just between us?

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Of course, sweetie.”

Amunet Trujillo: She’s quiet for several long seconds, as if she’s hesitant to voice her thoughts. “I don’t think I love him as much as he loves me. And I know I don’t love him as much as I love John. Which is pretty fucking unfair, if you think about it. Especially with as good as he’s been to me with everything.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: Her brow furrows at that…she’s not quite sure what to think about it. “But you do love him, right? I mean, you’re not just using him or anything?”

Amunet Trujillo: “No, I’m not just using him.” She doesn’t even sound offended by the question.

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “I notice you didn’t answer that first part, only the second.”

Amunet Trujillo: “I love him. Just….” She shrugs, sighing. “I don’t know what the fuck is wrong with me.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Just what?”

Amunet Trujillo: “Just like I said. Not as much. Or at least different.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Well…to be fair, you’ve been through a lot. Maybe that’s why…you’re still processing.”

Amunet Trujillo: “I just feel bad. He’s really good to me.” She sighs, squeezing her hand before letting it go. “Thanks. It feels better, just getting it out there.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “S’what I’m here for.” She smiles a bit and slips an arm around her. “We’re just all sorts fucked, Ames. But we’re fucked together, and that makes it better.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Can’t think of anybody I’d rather be all sorts of fucked with.” She laughs, settling in with her. “You going to come stay for a few nights so I can keep an eye on you?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “You seriously ready to deal with my screaming ass?” She frowns. “I dunno, maybe. It’d be good at least for a night or two. Joey’s left town, I’m gonna challenge for Ragabash Elder.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Yeah?” She pulls back, grinning at her. “Fucking seriously?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She takes a breath and nods. “Dpm

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Don’t get too excited. If I fuck up, my pack’s totem-less for two weeks.”

Amunet Trujillo: “You aren’t going to fuck up. Jesus. I’ve fucked up enough to cover both of us for a while.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “We’ll see. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Test were easier when I could blow some guy to get his answers.”

Amunet Trujillo: That makes her laugh, eyes closed and head shaking. “Fuck you. Now all I can picture is you blowing the Grand Elder.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Oh GOD.” She wrinkls her nose. “Gee, thanks for sharing.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Your fault. No way I’m not sharing that shit.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Still. Ew.”

Amunet Trujillo: “I know!”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Only you would think of that, you know that?”

Amunet Trujillo: “Please. If I’d said it, that’s EXACTLY what you would have said.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Lies.” She grins, though.

Amunet Trujillo: “You’re the liar.” She grins back, untangling to get up. “I’m going to call him and warn him. We should stop and get an air mattress or some shit, and we can camp out in the living room

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “He’s not gonna be pissed?”

Amunet Trujillo: “Not when I tell him what’s going on”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She frowns. “What exactly are you going to tell him?”

Amunet Trujillo: “Um. What do you not want me to tell him?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She frowns. “I don’t know.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Do you care if he knows about the nightmares?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “I…not what they are. Don’t tell him that.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Yeah, no. I won’t. Hang on, okay?” She walks outside, dialing Stefan

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She frowns and nods, watching her go.

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: Stefan picks up on the second ring. “Hello my dear.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Hey. Soooo…. I kind of invited Sar to camp out in the living room with me for a couple of nights. She’s got some shit going on.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Okay.” A pause. “What is going on?”

Amunet Trujillo: “There was an incident, and now she’s having nightmares.” A couple of seconds pass, and her voice is quiet when she continues. “I just want to be able to take care of her”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Of course.” Soothing. “I have no problem with that.”

Amunet Trujillo: She takes a deep breath, letting it out slowly “You’re pretty amazing, you know that?”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “She is your sister. Besides, this should equate to goodwill points for me.” The last said in a teasing tone. “She cannot shoot me if I have enough goodwill points.”

Amunet Trujillo: She laughs softly “That’s true. Alright. I’ll be home before too long, then.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “I look forward to it.”

Amunet Trujillo: A couple seconds pass before she speaks again. “I love you.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “I love you as well.”

Amunet Trujillo: She hangs up, then goes back into the garage. “We’re all set”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: She nods a little bit and gets up. “Yeah…okay.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Come on. It’ll be fun. We can make cocoa, and braid each other’s hair, and do makeovers and shit. Whatever the fuck is supposed to happen with sleepovers.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Will I sound like an alcoholic if I say I want my cocoa on the rocks with Bailey’s?”

Amunet Trujillo: “I hope not, because that’s pretty much how it’s going to be served.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Fucking awesome.”

Amunet Trujillo: “Come on. Let’s run through Target for shit and go set up camp.”

Sarita Ecos de la Risa: “Sounds good.” She nods and goes to head out with her.

Leave a Reply

