A Poor Attempt At An Intervention

[Amy] She didn’t sleep much, and it shows. Her eyes have dark circles, and her skin has that dull, slightly grey ‘Just spent all night on acid’ cast to it.

“You got anything to smoke?” She steps aside to let her in, this apparently her only form of greeting today.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Both varieties.” She looks like she hasn’t slept either. She slips in, reaching out to brush her sister’s hair back out of her face. She’s tired, she’s sore, and she’s worried, but she still has time for gentleness. She shuts the door. “C”mon, let’s sit.”

[Amy] “Good.” She pulls back when Sarita reaches for her, drifting back into the main room and settling in on the blanket that’s still there from the night everything fell apart.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] Her face falls a little and she looks down. She chews on her lower lip, then follows her along to settle across from her. A pack of cigarettes and a bag of weed is settled on the floor between them.

“There you go.” She doesn’t say anything else, glancing around uncomfortably before looking back.

[Amy] “How long were you going to wait until you told me?”

Pleasantries seem to be finished for the day. The cigarettes are ignored in favor of something more reality denting, but she hops up and pads to the kitchen instead of rolling. The beers are still there, warm inside the non functioning fridge, and the five are dangled by the free ring as she moves back to the blanket for her answer.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Until I had a sure idea of the hows and whys. Until I could tell you everything and not have you wonder.”

[Amy] “He’s still just as-” She blinks a couple of times, taking a deep breath and holding it until she’s sure she can speak again. “Why wouldn’t change it. Who told you?”

She pulls off two beers, handing one to Sarita.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “You would have needed to know, Amy. The questions would have kept flying around in your head. Just like I’m sure that they are today.” She takes the beer and sets it down. “I found out from Hunter. He’s…pretty fucked up over it right now, so I didn’t get a lot of clear information from him.”

[Amy] She nods a little. “So yesterday at the fucking bar, when I was all going on about Mates and shit like a dumbass, you already knew.”

It isn’t even phrased as a question, so much as a request for confirmation.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She swallows. “I didn’t know what to do, Amy. I wanted to tell you right then, right there. I didn’t want you to find out like this and I was about ready to beat my own head when I heard you say that.”

[Amy] “But you didn’t. Tell me. I guess that’s why Hunter’s ducking me too, hey? Because I need to be even more fucking abandoned right now?”

A sharp breath is inhaled, and held once again. As it’s let out in a sigh she pops the top of the warm beer, drinking it all down at once.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Sweetie…the last time I saw Hunter, he wasn’t exactly at his most coherent. I followed him around town and made sure he didn’t hurt himself or anyone else, eventually he made it back to the warehouse. I don’t think he’s ducking you, I think he’s trying to process.”

[Amy] “Yeah. Poor Hunter.”

The simmering anger is starting to boil to the surface. She opens another beer, only drinking half of this one on the first go.

“I need to go get my shit from the hotel. No point in Stefan hiding me if it’s all bullshit.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “That’s not what I mean, Amy.” She takes a breath, then nods.

“Yeah, okay. I’ll help you get it all. Where are you going to go? Here?”

[Amy] She nods. “Fuck Hunter. If he doesn’t want me here, he can face me and tell me himself.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Okay.” She gives a little nod. “I’m sorry. I wasn’t trying to make this worse for you than it already is.”

[Amy] “Is this just…. I mean, did he just change his fucking mind again, or I was right and they were just testing me or whatever? If they want me to leave him alone, all they have to do is say so.”

Her breath hiccups, and she pulls her knees up to her chest.

Did Lukas find out? He can come back from wherever they’ve got him hiding out. I’ll leave him alone. Fucking call him right now and tell him. I’ll leave him alone, just let him come back.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She looks like her own heart is breaking, and she moves closer to Amy. She reaches out, tentatively, to see if Amy will pull away and if not, she puts a hand on her sister’s shoulder.

“I wish I could say that he was somewhere hiding, sweetie. I wish I could say that he just left. I’m sorry. I’m so sorry.”

[Amy] “Please? Just fucking call Lukas or Hunter or fucking whoever’s idea this was. I’ll be good. I”ll stay the fuck away from him. They can mate me off to whoever the fuck they want. I’ll behave from now on. Tell them. No more fights or anything.”

She hunches a little, curling herself into her knees.

“Please, Sar. I’m sorry. I’ll be good as fucking gold. Lukas can do whatever he wants with me. He wants me fucking knocked up and in the kitchen? Done. Just make them let him come back.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She moves forward then, wrapping her arms around Amy. “I know, hon. I’m sorry. I wish I could say that. I wish I could just take you to him.”

[Amy] She’s practically vibrating with the effort of holding it all in, too focused to even shrug Sarita off of her now. “He was in Peoria, though. He was coming back.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Something happened between then and here.”

[Amy] “Yeah. He almost got caught by the cops, when he crashed the car. He texted me.”

She knows that it’s bullshit, from her tone, but she’s clawing onto it.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She shakes her head. “I don’t know about the text. But I know that the car crash is when it happened.”

[Amy] “Then who the fuck was texting me?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I don’t know. Like I said, it wasn’t me.”

[Amy] “Fucking Hunter. He knew.” The second half of the beer is finished in one gulp.

“I never should have been at the fucking hotel. I should have been here. He was like, six blocks from here or some shit. If I were here, I could have been there.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “You don’t know that.” She rubs Amy’s back, staying close and leaning against the kinfolk. “I don’t think there’s anything that could have been done differently.”

[Amy] (Brb. Minor sister in law crisis. Have to run over there quick, back in like 15)

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[Eek…okie.]]

[Amy] [Sorry, back. Her neighbors are dicks, and too stupid to realize that calls into dispatch are traced]

[Amy] “I could have not let him send me back here.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “There’s no way you could have possibly known that something like this would happen. Hell, something may have happened to both of you, or something could have happened to him trying to keep you safe.” She pets Amy’s hair, keeping her voice soothing.

[[Persuasion. Yes, she has it too.]]
Dice Rolled:[ 6 d10 ] 2, 2, 5, 9, 10, 10 (Success x 3 at target 6)

[Amy] She barely shrugs a shoulder, finally moving to pull away from her. “I’d rather be dead.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She winces. “He wouldn’t want that. You know that.”

[Amy] Persuasion keeps her from arguing. She shrugs a shoulder, scrambling up suddenly. “I gotta go.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She gets up, moving to follow. “Where?”

[Hunter] It’s about then that Hunter Matthews walks through the door. He doesn’t knock or speak to announce his presence, he just strolls on in. He has an apple in one hand and he takes a loud bite from it when he finds the two Striders about to leave.

Crunch

He chews without speaking, eyes slowly darting back and forth between them. He looks impossible calm. Cold even.

“Sup?”

[Amy] “I just gotta-”

She goes still when she sees Hunter, not even breathing for a minute.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] And that about stops her in her tracks. She looks at Hunter for a long moment, then at Amy. To Hunter. To Amy. And she swallows.

“Um. Hey.”

[Amy] “You son of a bitch.”

[Hunter] There is no expression that crosses his face, he just looks at Amy, completely inhuman in his response.

Then turns around to leave.

[Amy] “No. FUCK no.” Darting forward, she grabs his arm. “Fucking TEXTS, Hunter? Like I’m too fucking stupid to figure out that I wasn’t talking to him?”

[Hunter] She grabs his arm and he just shrugs out of her grip like it’s nothing, turns his head to peer at her with a raised eyebrow.

“I don’t know whatcha’ talkin’ about.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Hunter, wait.” She lets her Gift try to do its work as she speaks, her tone carrying that preternatural conviction, the Gaia-enhanced reason that does its work so well. “Please, stay. You guys…you need to talk. You have to have this out, so it doesn’t destroy you both.”

She looks between them. “No one is the bad person here. You both…you need this. Just…talk. For each other.”

[[Charisma+Empathy]]
Dice Rolled:[ 5 d10 ] 4, 5, 6, 6, 9 (Success x 5 at target 5) [WP]

[Amy] She tugs at his arm, obviously wanting him to stay, but lets go and takes a couple of steps back.

[Hunter] The look he gives Sarita is something like bewildered amusement.

“I don’t need’a talk bout nuthin’. If ya’ got somethin’ ta’ say Amy then say it.” The last part directed at the Kinswoman.

[Amy] Her voice is quiet, and the hurt behind her words bleeds through easily.

“Why wouldn’t you just tell me? Why send me texts and shit like he’s still fine?”

[Hunter] The hurt might bleed through, but it has no effect on the Gnawer. He frowns if anything.

“I ain’t sent ya’ shit.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She moves to give them room to speak. Coincidentally, she moves to take up a position near the door to where she’s in a position to stop someone from leaving if she chooses to, but still. Giving them room.

[[Running away for like 15, 20. BRB!]]

[Amy] “Yeah, okay. Fine.”

Her head shakes and she folds her arms around herself.

[Hunter] He raises an eyebrow at her.

“That it?”

[Amy] “You want a beer?”

[Hunter] “Not really.”

[Amy] “Want to go get something stronger?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She frowns a little, the look more worry than anger or frustration. She takes a lean against the wall, arms folded over her chest. “Might be a good idea,” she says quietly to the idea of them going out and getting a drink. Or anything, really.

[Hunter] “Why?” At first he asks Amy, then swivels to include Sarita. “I got shit ta’ do, I’d rather ya’ just went ahead n’asked or said whatever it is ya’ wanna say.”

[Amy] She looks struck. Her head turns away, arms tightening around herself.

“So that’s it? He’s gone, so we’re done too?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “She’s looking to make sure you guys are still friends, lunkhead.” The insult is gentle, without any malice behind it. “She wants to know that this doesn’t mean that you’re just walking away from her.”

[Hunter] He’s looking at Sarita when Amy begins to speak and though his gaze wanders, he remains facing the Garou. She explains and he doesn’t even do so much as breathe out a sigh.

“She don’t need me, she’s got you’n your pack.”

[Amy] There’s a sharp inhale again, just before she flees to the bedroom.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “She wants you. You’re her friend. That has nothing to do with a pack, and who needs what.”

She frowns now, looking at Amy and then back. “I saw you guys together. You weren’t just hanging out with her because of him. You legitimately liked her as a friend. Don’t turn on that now. She’s hurting and she needs you, and there’s nothing about packs involved there. For Christ’s sake, you showed up first thing to tell me because you were thinking of her. Don’t try to tell me you don’t care now.”

She says it loud enough that Amy can hear it, even through the bedroom door if it shuts.

[Hunter] He stares at her for a long moment, breathes out once, twice, eyes narrowing. “Do ya’ really think your Sister needs ta’ talk to me right now? More’n talkin’ ta’ you?”

His head tilts, jaw clenching within the break of speech.

“I’m not okay to talk ta’ her. I could hurt her. How am I gonna make anythin’ better? She needs family, she needs you. She needs the truth.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She steps forward, lowering her voice a bit. “I know you’re not okay right now. What but she needs right is for her to know that you’re not just dropping her. She’s lost almost everything in nothing flat, Hunter. She needs to know that, even if you’re not good to talk to her right now, that she hasn’t lost you too. You’re the closest thing she has left to her old Sept that she just found out is dead to a man. Right now, you’re hurting her as badly as you ever could by flipping out and rending her.”

She pauses. “She knows he’s dead. I may have made a mistake by hiding his death from her, and she may never trust me again for that, but she sure as hell doesn’t need to know that he became something you had to put down. I want her to remember him as the man she loved. You knew that person, and you loved him too. He was your brother, and he was her love. And you are her friend.”

A sigh. “I appreciate that you don’t want to hurt her. That tells me you care. If you can’t talk to her now, just…please, go in there and tell her you’re not going to abandon her, and that you’ll be there for each other when you can. Please?”

[[More convincing attempts! Man+Emp and burning WP like an arsonist!]]
Dice Rolled:[ 5 d10 ] 4, 5, 7, 8, 8 (Success x 5 at target 5) [WP]

[Hunter] “I gotta go home, Joey is wait’n for me.” He frowns, looks Sarita in the eye with an unfaltering gaze. “You tell her, I can’t.”

And moves to step past her.

[Amy] She comes out of the bedroom finally, not looking at either of them as she heads for the door without a word.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[Okay guys, I apologize but I need to go, I should have left for TT 15 – 20 minutes ago. You guys please figure out what happens from here, and just lemme know if Amy gets herself killed. Sarita will follow Amy if she leaves and Hunter lets her go, but we can figure out how it works from there. Sorry to both of you, I didn’t mean to try and force this scene and make things worse.]]

Leave a Reply

