Introducing Amy To The Loft

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She pulls up to the Loft and parks on the side of the street, slipping out. “You’re gonna love the place, seriously.” She makes her way to the door, using her key to slip inside. From the outside, the Loft doesn’t look like much — sort of stark and more like a warehouse than a residence. Inside it unfolds into polished surfaces, glass and pale wood and wide open windows overlooking small courtyards. It’s all kept very, very clean.

“Lucille is around here somewhere. She takes care of the place. She’s pretty cool, all things considered.”

[Amy] She nods a little, most of her attention on peeling skin off of her shoulders and arms at the moment. “Sounds great.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She lets them in and head on past the giant simming pool that dominates the first floor, up the stairs to the main hangout area. “Have a seat, chica.” She moves to drop down on the floor with a little ‘oof’ and makes herself comfortable.

“So, how you feelin’?”

[Amy] “Jesus FUCK” She stares wide eyed at the pool, sitting carefully across from her sister.

“I’m totally fine. Why?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Just wondering. You came back earlier than I thought, and you been through a ton of shit in the process.”

a little smile, empathetic. “I know you got a lot goin’ on, and I’m here to help however. You know that.” She shrugs. “I just…I worry. You know I worry. Always have, always will.”

[Amy] “I came back because he sent me back.”

She pulls a knee up to rest her chin on it. “I took the whole thing back home pretty bad. He thought that I would be better off back here with you.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She purses her lips, nodidng a little. A sigh, and she runs her hand through her hair.

“Well, brownie points to him. You wanna talk about it?”

[Amy] She shrugs, attention on peeling again. “Not much to talk about. Everybody is dead. Have been for a while.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She frowns, leaning a little closer to her sister. She knows that’s not all there is. She also knows that Amy’s one of the most stubborn people she’ll ever meet. So for the moment, she just nods.

“I’m sorry, sweetie. I can’t even imagine what that would be like.”

[Amy] “I just thought….” She trails off, head shaking again. “I wish I knew when it happened.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She gives a little nod, brown eyes sympathetic. She hwas that look of ‘If I could fix this for you, you know that I would.’ “Did you check with any of the neighboring septs? They may have had a clue as to when and how. Maybe even a welcome surprise or two.”

She knows that latter part is unlikely, and she knows Amy know. She knows that Amy knows that she knows, et cetera ad infinitum. But there’s always a chance.

[Amy] “There aren’t any neighboring Septs. Not really. Closest one was the one Ox went to, like three hours away.” Her fingers run in her hair before she picks at the bandages. “It doesn’t matter. They’re gone. Nothing is going to change that.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I’m sorry, Ames.” She frowns, looking at the ground. Gone, and nothing is going to change that. A sigh. “I wish I could do something. Make it all right for you.”

[Amy] “Just one more thing Esteban fucked me out of, you know? I’ve got you guys though. It’s not like I’m all alone.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] A little smile. “You’re never alone, sweetie. Ever. You know that.”

[Amy] “I just wanted him to meet everybody, you know? I wanted him to see where I grew up. He’s the only one that ever wanted to know who I was. It just felt. I don’t know…. normal, I guess. Wanting to take him home.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Ain’t nothing in the world wrong with that.” She nods a little, reaching out to set her hand on the other’s arm. “Taking the guy home to meet the fam’ is perfectly natural.”

[Amy] “How fucked up is that? Me, wanting a guy around long enough to meet anybody.” Smiling a little, she starts to unwind the bandages from her hands. “It’s kind of nice.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] A faint smile lights her face, even if it is brief. “Yeah. I can imagine it is.” She lets a beat pass, watching Amy unwind the bandages, seeing the wounds and sunburns underneath.

“Jesus, Ames. You really did a number on yourself.” It isn’t reproachful, or scolding. It’s just…concern. Sisterly love and concern.

[Amy] “Couldn’t just leave them out, right?” She shrugs, picking at the blisters on her palms now. “And before you get pissed, he offered to help and I told him no.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I ain’t pissed. Just sorry I can’t just poof-heal your shit.” She purses her lips, then lets it go. That’s something for another time. Hopefully far, far in the future.

“Hey” she says after a moment, as she nudges the other’s leg with her foot. “Guess who’s official?”

[Amy] She grins, and it’s only half forced. “Yeah? That’s great Sar. Congrats. Baby’s first pack and all that shit, hey?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She grins a bit at that. “it’s kinda weird. Good weird, I ain’t gonna lie. But weird nonetheless. I mean, there’s enough people yapping in my head when it’s just me. Hearing the rest…yeah, wow.”

A sigh. “But it is good weird and not bad weird. And they’re a lot cooler than they let on. People just…they see the Ahroun Elder and the Master of the Challenge, the Fostern Walker and they don’t really see the people underneath, you know? Kinda like the way we’ve been dealt with before, just in the opposite direction.”

[Amy] “So you get to just fly under the radar. How cool is that?” She nods, head tilting as she watches her sister quietly for a moment.

“I’m proud of you, Sar. You deserve a good pack.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Thanks.” She smiles a little, looking at the ground. “Just…I dunno. I feel like I should be like, seriously thanking them every damn day, you know? But then, Lukas said that THEY were lucky to have ME, and Sinclair said that they ~earned~ me as much as I did them. The mind fucking boggles.”

[Amy] “They are lucky to have you. Totally.” Clear liquid seeps out of her blisters and is wiped on her jeans. “I’ll hang out with them, if you want. Not like I’ll be hanging out with Defiance anymore, unless they let him back in.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I’d like that.” She gives a little nod. “Sinclair’s a little distant with people. It’s not anyone else, it’s just…she’s got some shit going on in her head. Lot of shit, really. But I think you’ll get along way better than you think with the others.”

[Amy] “She was kind of a bitch when I met her before.” She shrugs. “I’ll give it a shot, though.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “She…” She pauses, and shrugs. Sarita sees a lot that Amy and Sinclair have in common, actually. But that’s not for her to divulge, in either direction. “She’s cooler than she lets know.”

A pause. “Oh. So I finally went to do something about Leon. Talked with his pack Alpha, Matthieu. No more contact twixt you guys, he can’t have contact with any kinfolk outside of his tribe and he has to take what basically amounts to anger management courses.” A slight frown. “Not as much as I wanted, but his Alpha is aware and keeping after it, and should anything ever rear its ugly head, then he’s fucked.”

[Amy] A week ago she would have argued out of a left over, twisted sense of loyalty. Now, she just studies the weave of her jeans and nods “Okay. Whatever you guys think is best.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She scoots over and leans in to gently hug Amy, mindful of the sunburn. “I’m glad you’re back. I missed you.”

[Amy] “I missed you too.” She hugs her back, chin resting on Sar’s shoulder. “It’ll work out. You’ll see. Now that you’re in the pack, maybe they’ll listen and we won’t have to keep hiding. It’s not like he’s taking me away from some Strider that wants to knock me up, you know?”

[Amy] (And fade)

Leave a Reply

