Sussing Out The Leon Problem

[Matthieu] Matthieu invited Sarita to his home… He wouldn’t be here much longer, however, it was his home for the moment. Sarita would have to follow his instructions and after getting tob the building she would be greeted by the staff and up the elevator she would go. The entire building was extravagant and obviously intended for the wealthy with all the amenities they could need including their own park raised several stories above the rest of the city. The building was beautiful, to say the least, though that said nothing for the view!

Matthieu’s room was a short walk from the elevator and when she knocked he opened the door to greet her with the warmest of smiles.”So nice to see you again… Come in!”He says with a smile on his face before stepping aside to let her into the condo. The contents were light, marble and oak seemed to be the focus of the rooms features. Matthieu, himself, gave off the vibe of old money and stunk of wealth and privilege. Though not in the spoiled rick kid way… He carried himself tall and proud. he spoke, and he moved as if everything he did was trained into him from birth. His entire life was a sort of dance that had to be learned with painstaking time and effort.

“Can I take your coat?”He asks her once she is inside closing the door behind her. When she entered she would have an amazing view of the lake on one side and the city on another. They were high up, perhaps not as high as the clouds but when the fog rolled in and cast it’s gloom over the city below it certainly could feel that way.

“Have a seat.”He offers gesturing towards the oaken table in the dining area.”Can I offer you a drink?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She follows instructions quite well. Sarita looks…tired. She’s had a long couple of days. Hell, one could say that she’s had a long week. But she smiles to Matthieu when he shows up at the door and lets her in. She’s actually not wearing her duster for once. She’s in a leather jacket over a tank top and jeans. She looks over the place, whistling.

“So this is how the other half lives.” It’s said with humor, albeit with a bit less than Sarita might normally use. She slips off her jacket and hands it to him. Normally she’d say no, but she’s honoring civility and propriety at this point. See, the crazy chick can behave from time to time.

“No, nothing to drink, thank you.” She nods a little, appreciative of the gesture. “How are you?”

[Matthieu] “Yes well I do like to live comfortably…”He adds as he takes the jacket and hangs it up for her. He then turns to follow her into the room. Finding himself a glass of water before wandering over to the table and taking a seat across from her.”I am well enough these days. I am glad to hear you’ve found yourself a pack.”He says with a little smile back at her.

“What can I do for you this evening? I mean I do not wish to be rude or hurried but it would seem you came to see me for a reason and it would be rude of me to beat around the bush for too long no? Stuffy and long winded I might be but I am also quite business oriented.”He continues with a warm little smile on his lips.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Thanks.” She smiles. “Yes, it’s gonna be good, I think. I’m surprised with how well I get along with them. Didn’t think it would be the case, but it’s really good.”

Her face becomes a bit…reticent when he mentions business. “I do. And I hate to bring it to you, I’ve waffled on it for a while now, which may make it a bit more complex, I’m afraid. But I need to talk to you about Leon.”

[Matthieu] He nods his head slowly.”Well I am glad to hear it. A pack should be like a family… Members should feel safe in one another’s company.”He says back to her as he leans back comfortably in his chair.”Alright then… Tell me about Leon. I am listening.”He says back to her with his smile shining through. This was something he did well enough, listened to others. Which was part of the reason he didn’t invite his pack over since these kinds of conversations were a little nicer when they were one on one.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Thanks.” She settles into her seat, not truly getting comfortable. She’s not twitchy or the like, just…well, this could be an awkward conversation. She takes a breath and looks across the table at him, watching him for a moment.

“I should ask, Matthieu…and it may be little, it may be a lot. How much do you know about how involved Leon was with my sister?”

[Matthieu] He shrugs his shoulders a hint then his smile shows through.”I try not to involve myself in the romantic affairs of my associates. It’s generally none of my business so long as everyone does their part I try to stay out of those kinds of matters. Has something happened between them?”He asks in a curious tone.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Well…not anymore.” She puts up a pressed smile, muted. “They were…involved when Harrier’s Grace was still getting together. And it wasn’t a good match. I was pretty damned skeptical about it, but Amy and I have traveled a lot….you might know that, might not. I don’t hold an oppressive hold over who she gets involved with, but of course I’m protective of her. She’s a very free spirit, as a lot of folks round these parts know.”

She wouldn’t outwardly say Amy sleeps around. That’s not the point, and it’s disrespectful. She’s her sister, after all. “Amy found herself in over her head a bit with Leon, and she acted out a bit. She slept with someone else at one point, and it…didn’t go well when Leon found out.”

The Strider lets her face frown. She’s not going to hold back as much as she would like here. “To put it to the put, Matthieu…Leon hit her. And I don’t mean he just smacked her. He shifted form, and then he hit her. Gave her a concussion, knocked her to the floor bad enough that he rebroke a healing wrist.” Even though it’s been a while, the anger over the issue comes back pretty decently.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[put it to the point]]

[Matthieu] He nods his head, and listens to everything she has to say. He didn’t speak up or try to interject or anything of the sort. He seemed intent on hearing all she had to offer and that much showed on his face, and in the way he presented himself. This was a part of who he was… Matthieu was of house Unbreakable Hearth Harrier was their chosen totem and it was Harrier who taught them the patience and wisdom required to treat others with the respect and dignity they were due.

When she finished he nodded his head slowly.”Full moons are well known for their tempers are they not? Perhaps not as notorious these days as they once were no?”He asks her in the softest of tones.”I can ask that Leon keep away from your sister if this is a problem. We don’t want things to escalate any further. Rage is a dangerous thing especially when we allow it to brew.”He says this with a little smile.

“Is that what you are saying? The rage in your heart is swelling? It’s eating away? I certainly wouldn’t blame you… There are people in my life who I would kill for without the slightest hesitation. I would not care the reasons…”He says in his own way to relate to her.

“What can I do to help alleviate your issued with one another? There are some who would say to challenge him… But Leon is a Full Moon and asking a New Moon to to battle in the ring with a Full Moon would be insulting to you. But I figure there might be some other way we might set your mind at ease?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] The mention that Leon is an Ahroun and known for his temper puts a frown on her face. She’s heard that already, from Leon. From Amy herself. She clearly doesn’t go along that lines. “Matthieu, we have a lot of Ahrouns in this city. I imagine some of them have been in situations where kinfolk have angered them. And they don’t shift form and hit their kin. You know that kind of thing can be staved off if a we’re at our wit’s end. Hunter, Lukas, just off the top of my head. Either way, what he did wasn’t appropriate.”

She’s actually starting to feel her anger rise a bit as she talks more about it. It’s not Matthieu she’s angry at, that’s clear. It’s that she’s getting herself worked up a bit. “I already put the kibosh on them. After it happened and I had to take Amy to the hospital, Leon made a big mess about him being sorry and he gave us some money, like that would be okay. I ain’t saying I didn’t take the money, because we needed it for her hospital bills and for the bed he shattered in our room within the Brotherhood. At first, I was more worried about making sure that my sister was okay. Vengeance wasn’t going to solve anything, and Amy was in a fragile state. She’d hit abused housewife mode and was begging me not to do anything. For her sanity, I did.”

She pauses there, her anger draining a bit. “She’s out of the city for the time being. She has some shit to take care of, and that’s cool. But someone pointed out to me that my responsibility isn’t just to Amy. My responsibility is to the next person he might do this to. And yes, I believe he might do this to someone else. Either he willingly hit her, or he has no control over his temper. Either is not good. So it’s not a matter of my vengeance, or of making sure Amy’s safe. He needs to have something further happen. I came to you because my options were do that, or make it a bigger issue. I don’t want to take this to the Philodox Elder. But I will if he doesn’t get dealt with in a way that I and those who know of this don’t have to watch him like a hawk whenever he casts his eye at a kinfolk.”

[Matthieu] He nods his head.”And whjat do you feel would be a suitable punishment to ensure he does not harm another kin in the future?”He asks her curiously. Again he was listening to her cautiously and carefully wanting to hear her side of the story entirely in addition to her completion.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She chuckles a little bit. “You don’t wanna hear what my instinct is to say, and even I would say that’s weeee bit beyond the pale.” Leon, meet this pair of silver scissors… Yeah, probably wouldn’t fly, would it? You’re a sick bastard. You don’t know the half of it.

She takes a breath. “I’m going to be honest…my thoughts–or I should say, my sane, rational thoughts–go along the lines of a punishment rite, or some other form of shaming. My insane thoughts, on the polite side, run along the lines of actions portrayed in The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.”

She shrugs. “I guess I would ask you this. If it was your own kin who, for any reason other than self-defense, ended up beaten by a Garou in non-homid form, what would you consider fair?”

[Matthieu] He shrugs his shoulders.”You say you do not wish vengeance and yet your words accuse my pack mate of being irredeemably violent. You harbor ill will in your heart and that isn’t exactly beyond reason. But let me remind you that we are garou… What you are telling me is that Leon shifted forms to assault your sister, and damaged her severely. This is a serious issue but we are garou. It is not unheard of for Garou to lose control and slay entire crowds of people or even other garou. This is not even unheard of it’s considered uncommon in our society.”He says this softly and calmly.

“We’re not normal men and women. We do not always respond in the way normal humans are expected to. This is not to say it is excusable or dismissable but it happens and when it does innocent people are sometimes hurt as a result.”

“I would say that the first order of business would be that I ask Leon to have no contact with your sister in any way shape or form. Which would have to extend both ways on her part.”He then shrugs his shoulders.”Secondly I would like that Leon not spend time with those who are not of his tribe. I shall ask him personally to cease any personal pursuits with kin who are not of his tribe. Lastly, I do not feel that Leon is an irredeemable monster who will go on to beat every woman he ever knows. I believe this to be a mistake, a lapse in judgement made by an inexperienced garou. To that end I would ask that he undergo personal training… I will seek out a Philodox willing to take him under their wing and personally teach him to better restrain his anger. He is no use to anyone if he cannot contain his rage. None of us are any use to anyone if they cannot contain their rage.”He finally concludes.

“As for those on the outside… I don’t feel they have any say in the matter. Amy is neither their kin nor their family.”He says with a nod of his head.

“And just between you and I. If someone were to harm a member of my family under these circumstances I would indeed see them in battle. If you feel you wish to then I would advise you to challenge Leon and work out your aggression in a challenge circle. There, after blood has been spilled we can hope that you two can leave any personal issues behind. We must be ready to trust one another…”He smiles back at her.

“I don’t feel that this issue warrants any more attention than it has been given if it can be avoided. Your Alpha and the Alpha of Defiance are not you nor are they Silent Striders. Nor do I feel they have any place in this matter.”He says this before settling back.

“Is there anything other than this that you would like to add personally to this? I am not a Half-Moon but am attempting to keep both the matter of your Sister, and my Beta carefully balanced. This matter sounds as if it is stewing and this is the kind of thing that leads garou to kill one another unnecessarily. So I wish to see it end here and now before it grows any worse.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She considers what he’s said. His first words do seem to cause her gall to rise. She is a creature of low Rage, but she simply does not accept that Leon had no other option. She nods a little bit when he says it is not excusable.

“That first order of business was already established. Believe me, Amy has no interest in being involved with him. However, I would appreciate you reinforcing the issue. I will make sure that, when she returns, she is aware that she ain’t having any contact at all with him. At all. Ever.” She smiles a bit at that.

“The rest, I agree with. You’ve answered every one of my concerns there. I didn’t think that he was irredeemable, for the record. You and I wouldn’t be having this talk if I did, I would have found a way to drag him straight to the Elders and had this dealt with. I’m more worried what you are, that he doesn’t know how to act, and that does mean the possibility that it could happen again. And I have no desire to handicap your pack by reputation, so that works. No contact outside of his tribe and some training will cover it.”

A little smile. “And I’m not going to try and kick his ass in a challenge circle. I’m not saying I’m not pissed, ’cause you and I both know I am. But it wouldn’t accomplish anything, and frankly…I’m pretty sure I’d lose unless I didn’t fight fair.”

[Matthieu] He nods his head.”You spoke of Unboken and Defiance… I would ask that you address the issue with their Alphas as well. I can also seek out a means of satisfying their rage but this pack… Harrier’s Grace. Cannot function if we do not have the trust of the other packs. If you could ask that they bury the hatchet and be done with it? This kind of anger only grows and we must rise above it if we are to function alongside one another. We must trust that we all hold one another’s well being in mind. So to that end I will bring the matter of Leon’s training to your pack’s Philodox first to see if Honor’s Compass has the time and patience to teach Leon restraint.”He says with a smile and a nod of his head.

“I would hope that this matter can be put behind us and both you and Leon might one day be able to forget about this incident and call one another friend.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I haven’t told Lukas about this,” she clarifies. “I told Sinclair, because she’s an elder member of Leon’s tribe. Hunter found out of his own accord. I will absolutely tell them both that it’s been settled.”

She nods. “As far as I’m concerned, this is settled. Amy and Leon may as well be no more to each other, and he is able to handle himself. That’s all I need. I don’t hold anything against you or the rest of your pack, and I can work with Leon just fine.”

That is not to say that she is calling him friend. She doesn’t know that it’ll ever happen. But her tone is clear…they will fight alongside each other, and Sarita will not consider him different in battle or missions than any other Garou. Just don’t expect them to be sharing a drink any time soon.

[Matthieu] He nods and stands.”Well then I am glad to hear it. I will speak to Leon immediately about the matter and we will wash our hands of this dirty matter.”He says with a warm little smile taking shape on his face. He was glad he was dealing with Sarita and not a Full moon or the like! Reason was always so much more pleasant to deal with.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Perfect.” She nods and rises as well, letting her usual, ever-present grin finally return. “You’re good peoples, Matthieu. Don’t let anyone tell you any different.”

[Matthieu] He laughs and nods.”I do try my best… But believe me there are plenty who would readily think otherwise. When you are a member of a tribe who others see as little more than spoiled children it can be difficult to persuade the stubborn minds of some garou to the contrary.”He says with a warm little smile.”Once again I am glad we could settle this matter tonight.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[And faaaaaaaaade]]

Leave a Reply

