Drinking With the Persistant Kin

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] Good old Cabrini. Nothing like a slum as a good place to have a good time. Not long ago, Sabrina shot a coke dealer in the head outside of a school in this general vicinity. She hasn’t been afraid to come back, and that’s probably foolhardy.

But then, that’s Sarita.

She walks into a bar, looking like she’s been in a fight. This is a shitty part of town, and the bars are equally shitty. So a person looking like she’s been in a fight is not that uncommon. In this case, she looks like she won, even if she looks a bit battered. And she looks like she enjoyed it. She’s grinning as she rubs at a bruise, looking around and heading for a table.

[Derek Anderson] He walked into club, tall, muscularm good looking and confident. He knows people like him don’t usually go into bars liek this one. He was dressed in boots, jeans, long sleeve shirt and warm coat. His kind blue eyes looked around and found the person he was looking for. He smiled when he found her.

He went to the bar and order a pitcher of beer with two glasses. He made his way back to her “Good evening milady”He say with a grin “I wish I could tell you you look good, but you kinda look like shit. What happened to you”

He say placing everything down, a touch of concern in his voice when he asked the question

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Got in a fight!” she says, way too brightly. She is clearly Amy’s sister, except (and she would never rub this in Amy’s face) Sarita is actually built by Gaia for being a reckless bitch. She has a bottle in front of her already but she finishes it off, setting it aside.

“Couple gangbangers who thought I iced their boy a couple weeks ago.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded “Want me to arrest them? Or you think they learned their lesson?” He ask her tilting his head, pouring them beer then sat down with her. He watched her for a moment “Are oyu all right Sarita…seem liek every time I see you, you’re troubled”

She actually seemed in a good mood..maybe jsut too much of a good mood after a fight. HE know she won’t tell, but it idesn’t mean he won’t ask

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Dude, I’m fuckin’ fine.” She grins. “First time in a while. I needed a good brawl, I think.” She lights up a cigarette.

“And naah, don’t arrest them. If they couldn’t pick me out of a lineup for their boy before, they could now.” She shrugs. “They get uppity I’ll beat their asses again.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded to her, drinking from his glass “All right, I’ll leave them alone.” He leaned into his chair “It’s really good ot see you again. How are things going? With the Unbroken, family and all?”

He pause “I know it’s pretty personal, we can jsut keep it..light”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She sighs a little. “Naah, it’s cool. If it gets too personal, I’ll let you know.”

She takes a drag of her smoke, leaning back in her chair. “It’s okay? I’m meshing well so far. Amy’s been avoiding them though, I think. She spends all of her time with Hunter and his pack Defiance. Which is cool, I have no problem with them and they remind her of old friends and shit. But…I dunno.” She frowns. “I’m worried about it, I guess.”

[Derek Anderson] He tilt his head “I’ve met Hunter. I think I met some members of his pack…John and Joey right?” He ask, remebering the friendly blonde and the silent man looking to be if not close ot Izzy at least respectful of each other. Which wasn’t easy with Izzy…she was a tough one to get close to.

“If I read your sister right the only time Isaw her, she look liek more street level than what the Unbroken look like. I mean SInclair and you seem more hands on. Katherine and Lukas do seem..well more upscale and all. I liek them, all of them, you packmates I mean. Though i could understand why your sister would go with the more “regular”guys. ”

He drank some more “Are you feeling like you’re losing her? Taht your paths are going in different directions?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Right, but she hasn’t even given them a chance. I don’t even know if she’s met Kate yet.”

She frowns when he asks if it feels like they’re going in different directions…if she’s losing Amy. He clearly hit a mark. “For most of my entire life, I haven’t had anything constant. It’s the way we are. Just happens. Amy’s been a constant. She’s the only thing I have…she’s blood, y’know? Not just kin, but real blood.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded and reach to place his hand on hers “Look. I don’t know her much, barely really. I do know you some. If she shares jsut a gene or two with you, eventually, she’ll come to her senses and realize that nothing is worth losing you. As you know nothing is worth losing her.”

He looked into her eyes..fuck it if she don’t like it. He has been looking at some true born in the eyes lately. Maybeb Sar will accept it, he’ll know soon enough

“As for the Unbroken, they are the elite. Some people fear the elite when they don’t know them. I mean, I was uncomfortable around them for a while..now, I think that I’d be fine. After the other night, I got ot know them better and they’re good people with problems liek everyone els.e Of course I won’t start nudging Sinclair or tell Kate jokes, but you know..they’re not bad persons.

In time, Amy will realize it. Heck I could talk to her about them, About family. But most importantly..once she get past her misconceptions, she won’t be as hostile toward them.” He paused “Well I think”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She looks at the hand on hers, and then up. She doesn’t seem to mind that he’s looked her in the eyes. But then, when you consider her sister, she’s probably used to bold kin. She smiles…not one of the half-crazy grins, but a real, sincere smile.

“Yeah…” She nods, then says it again with a sigh. “Yeah. You’re probably right. She just needs some time with them.”

[Derek Anderson] He nod “Don’t force it though. I think that she need her time on her own if it can be said that way. I heard she has made a few msitakes, maybe she need to make a new set before she listen to you. Or maybe it won’t be a mistake at all, that hse’ll walk that path ofr a while, help her grow and understand your pack better. Sheu might even pick a skill or two that’ll make her more valuable to them. I mean…I’m good..but I don’t think I could bring anything to your pack if I wanted to hang with them. You’re one of the giants in the city”

He gave her hand a squeeze then let it go slowly. He liked of her skin felt, but he didn’t need long physical contact with her. They were..drinking buddies..maybe friends, who knows. Nothing more

“She’s probably intimidated and need to boost her self confidence before facing them.” He took another swallow “I do want to congratulate you though..unless it’s not officla yet, you joining them?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She finally pours herself a glass. “It’s more or less official. We’re engaged, so to speak. Just not married yet.” A little smile at that.

She takes a drink from her glass. “What have you heard about Amy? I mean, mistakes and shit.” it’s not accusing or interrogating, she seems sincerely just curious.

[Derek Anderson] He make a face but he wasn’t going to lie ot her “That was easy, crazy, direspectful..I mean I got someone telling me if I want a good time, there was a girl in room 10 that could give it to me.and well I know she wasn’t talking about you. Got someone else who’s pissed madly at her enough to want to beat her up.”

He paused “So I don’t know your sister. I haven’t made my mind about her. And until she mess with me directly, or really do something bad to someone I care for, I won’t have a problem with her. And no, not gonig to tell you who said whatI told you. And no, I won’t let anyone beat her up if I can help it”

He tilt his head “Not that anyone would dare with you, your pack or her friends around. It would be crazy” He shrugh

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She listens, not surprised. When he mentions the person who beat her up, she scowls a little, but that’s the end of it.

“Jesus.” She shakes her head. “No, you’re not surprising me at all. Making me want to beat some asses, but not surprising me. Thank you for being honest, and for what you just said. I appreciate that.”

She pauses. “For the record, she doesn’t just fuck anyone.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded “And you don’t have to defend her to me. I never believe everything people say about someone. Beside, it’s her life. She can sleep with whoever she want.” He shrugh “But I believe you for what it’s worth. One day maybe we could do something, the three of us. So I get to know her better.”

He smiled “And yes, I”m finding reason to drink with you again” He ginned and raised his glass to her before drinking

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Maybe, yeah. If I can pry her away from Hunter and company.”

When he mentions finding a reason to drink with her, she smiles and raises her glass as well. “Ain’t nothin’ wrong with that.”

[Derek Anderson] He grin “Well then…to drinking together” He drank with then smiled “Well I don’t care if she invite them. I think they’re ok with me. I just think it would be easier to get to know her some without others around..others that might have her act differently.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She nods and takes a swallow of beer.

“I’ll let her know. It might be nice.”

[Derek Anderson] He smiled “Ok. So..I’m sure she’s really nice but enough about Amy..what about you..what have you been up to? Just hanging with her?”

He look at her, his eyes focused on her, looking ,ore interested in her than Amy’s life. Not that he was nonchalant about it. He did meant everything he said. Amy was important to Sar and it meant that it was something they would talk about. But hios firend’s life was more interesting to him..because it was about her..and not someone else through her

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Ehh.” She shrugs. “Not much exciting. Workin’ my money mojo. We’re movin’ out of the Broho soon. Getting a place between Bronzeville and the Loft, so that we can be in easier access to both.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded to her “Well you can tell me even if it’s not exciting. I mean..it about you right? So at least I’m interested in hearing about it. As for you new place. Found something yet? You have a limited budget? I’m asking because I could look around for you. I”m already doing it for a friend of mine. So..if I can help”

He emptied his glass and filled it up again

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Ehh, we can make it work. I did some hunting today.” She smiles and drains her glass. “Thanks though. I ‘preciate it.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded “All right..I’ll check things out…find various priced placesand send then to you anyway. Just in case it help” He drank some “What would you like to talk about? I barely know you. Might be how you want it but I don’t know much about where you’re from, your life before the change..your family.” He smiled

“Or we cna talk about something that’s not you”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Oh, god.” She smiles at that. “That’s a whole story. Okay, I can do that.”

She takes a drink off her glass, collecting her thoughts. “I actually grew up outside the Nation completely. My dad, Esteban…he had a one-night stand with my mom. Then went on his merry way. I grew up knowing nothing about that shit, ’till my mom died. Then he showed back up, ’cause I’d gone through my First Change.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded listening to her “I know most true born has a rough time going through the change. How did it go for you? Yeah..I”m a curious man”

He smiled watching her, drinking and listening to her

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] A little frown, and she shrugs. “Mine…wasn’t your normal change, I guess.” A little shrug, and she lights up another cigarette.

“It happened literally the night my mom died.”

[Derek Anderson] He blinked “Oh..I’m..so sorry”He said. He didn’t really want her to dwelve too much on her mother’s death. Losing a parent is nver easy, but he had ot ask the question and it was related.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She shakes her head, putting on a smile again. “S’fine. You didn’t know. She got shot by some methhead junkie fuck at the place she was waitressing. I don’t remember much after seeing her on the gurney, but from the way Esteban told it, I had my First Change and tracked him down and killed him.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded to her “Still I”m very sorry..especially about the way she died. That’s the kind of thing I work so hard to prevent. And it suck for not matter what I do…there will be something like that somewhere I’m not”

HE shook his head “I know it doesn’t cahnge anything but I”m happy for you that you got him. What happened once your dad found you?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Thanks…I appreciate that.” She says it sincerely, and warmly.

She shrugs when she asks what happened next. “Esteban found me, told me what I was, got me emancipated and then showed me how to use my new shit. Then sent me off to the nearby sept and went on his merry way.”

[Derek Anderson] He nod “Hmmm he had the need to travel in his blood…guess most of your tribe do right?” He say watching her with a smile “I think you might understand him a little since you’ve travelled around right?”

He finished his beer and and poured himself another one. His eyes never left her, he was truly listening . It was interesting

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I do. But…” She shrugs. “I dunno. According to Amy, he like…told her he visited me every year when I was growing up. And told her all the things I was doing. So he came and checked up on me, made his other daughter–who I never knew existed–feel like shit because I was so fucking cool, and never bothered to say ‘Hi, I’m your dad.'”

She’s not truly angry. She’s not even bitter. It’s just a sudden truth about him she learned very recently and so the wound is still fresh, even though the damage was inflicted decades ago. Kinda like Dim Mak.

[Derek Anderson] He tilt his head “Your dad was an ass”He said then blinked and jsut realized what he said and to who he said it. He offered an apologetic smile “Sorry..but I think he was. I think it was unfair that he made Amy feel liek shit or looked out for you but from afar. I could understand the travelling and all..but..I don’t know. I don’t get why he didn’t make himself known to you, or tell Amy that she was as cool as you”

He shook his head “I’m judgmental and talking about things I don’t know about..go on..I’m shutting up”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “No, you’re right, he was a dick.” She smiles a bit. “You’re not speaking anything I haven’t said in the last twenty-four hours. I don’t know either. But…he was my father. I literally only knew him for like three months, but…”

She shrugs. She can’t explain it.

[Derek Anderson] He smiled “Maybe he was one..but I apologized because he was your father, and no matter his mistakes, that won’t cahnge. I have no right ot insult your family and it’s perfectly normal to still love him despite what it did. I still love my sister even though I put a few hundred miles between us to escape her”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Just do yourself a favor, don’t suggest to Amy that she might love him. She fucking HATES him.” She sighs a little, smiling a bit. “Anyway. I fostered at the Sept after I decided it was time to actually show up. Grand Elder HAAAATED me.” She grins. “Tried to make my life hell. I just took it as a way to keep proving him wrong and piss him off. Eventually I had my Rite of Passage, passed, and hit the road.”

[Derek Anderson] He smiled “Don’t worry. I won’t. I think I could be her right now if my sister had been my parents. So, I’ve been luckier than her. Not going to say anything about your family when I meet her”

He tilt his head “Now are you telling me your ex Elder was on crack, I think you do. No way someone wouldn’t like you.” He grinned “Seriously this must have sucked bad. At least you had your Rite. Where did you go?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She shrugs. “Anywhere. Everywhere. I wandered around for like, nine years. Don’t think I spent more than a month or two in one spot. New York, Miami, New Orleans–okay, I spent like two months in New Orleans. It was Mardi Gras.” She grins. “But yeah, San Fran, Portland, Seattle…even down into Mexico and up to Canada. Just wandered, and learned. And pissed people off, too.”

[Derek Anderson] He chuckled at that “Well i still can’t understand how you pissed peopel off, but I”m going to believe you. Since you mgiht be joining a pack, does it mean you’ll stay arond for a while now?” He ask, looking at her as he drank

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] A chuckle. “Yeah, well you haven’t seen me when I’ve decided someone needs to be taught a lesson.”

She nods and finishes off her glass. “That’s the plan, yeah. I’ve wandered enough. I want to stay somewhere a while. I may leave eventually, or take trips for a month or so. But not for a long while. For now, I’m here.”

[Derek Anderson] He smiled and filled her glass up, motioning to the bartender for another one. “Well I”m glad to know I’ll be able to see you..regularly..or at least frequently maybe?” He said watching her

“And don’t worry..I”m not getting ideas..I know we’re not of the same blood and all..though maybe Kate would allow you to if you wanted it. I”m just happy to be spending time with you like we have, like we are”

Hedrank some more “I really hope you’ll be happy here while you stay”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She grins at that. “Well, I appreciate that you’re not getting any ideas. Don’t get me wrong. You’re cute, you’re a sweet guy, and the cop dating the drug dealer would have the perfect Romeo and Juliet vibe, in a Baz Luhrman, Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes kind of way. Though between you and me, Mercutio was way hotter than Leo. But I would totally break your brain, and you don’t want that.”

[Derek Anderson] He raised a brow “Hmm I wasn’t sure that what you did. And you have to admit, whoever I date is a risk to my careeer. Just by your nature. I might be sweet, nice and all that, but I”m tougher than you might think.”

He paused “Mind telling me how you’d break my brain? JUst in case I can shoot that argument down. Won’t change anything but you know..I’m curious”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She sighs and smiles, and leans forward a bit. She hasn’t done a speech like this in a while. She doesn’t know if she’s any good at it.

“Listen. You’ve caught me on my best behavior so far. I know you don’t think people can dislike me, but believe me, I make it happen. Partly because it’s my job in the Nation, to prick egos and remind people that change is good, and they can’t get set in their ways. But it’s not just a job. It’s what I’m made for. And so it’s not something I can turn off when the nine to five is done. And the other part is…I’m just fuckin’ crazy. I go into a battle with war wolves wielding a .44 Colt Anaconda instead of my fangs. I tell nearly-frenzying Shadow Lord Ahrouns to beat the shit out of me, rather than go out on the street and tear apart some human. You probably think you can handle that, but you can’t.”

She shrugs. “I’m just like my sister, except the reverse is true in that I can heal, and anyone I can be involved with can’t. We’re mirror images of each other, and trust me. You’d lose it.”

[Derek Anderson] He watched her for a moment, listening to everything she was saying “I get what you’re saying. I really do. And yes you sound pretty crazy. And maybe you’re right, maybe I can’t handle it. Though..I think I should be free to decide that. I accept your fears and I won’t harass you Sarita, because I like you. ”

He drank some “But I have two questions for you. Why do you think I’ve only seen you on your best behavior and as crazy as you say you are..are the chances of you physically hurting me bigger than say a female warrior of my blood that i would date?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She chuckles a little. She doesn’t mean to sound like she’s laughing at him, and in truth she’s not. She’s just bemused by the fact that she hasn’t scared him off yet. “I say that because you HAVE seen my on my best behavior. With Unbroken, or out on the street when I knew you just a s a cop who happened to be kin. I’ve been behaving, trust me, and if you think I haven’t been…well, consider that. As to the other…”

She shrugs. “I dunno, to be honest. I haven’t gotten to know a lot of Silver Fangs. I know what their claws feel like, but haven’t gotten to know a lot in-depth. It isn’t about Tribe, Derek. It’s about me.”

[Derek Anderson] He leaned forward and looked into her yes again “My point Sar..is that you’re no more dangerous to me than any other female true born that I might end up mated with. Your rage is less than some, you seem to have better control over it. You mgiht be crazy, but you’re smart. You won’lose it on me and have me end up scarred like some other would. That I’m pretty sure of. So..I”m not afraid for my safety..no more, no less than with any other”

He tilted his head “As for my first question, I think you proved my point. I have seen you on your best behavior..I understand why with the Unbroken, but your other excuse..my job? We both know it doesn’t matter at all when it come odwn to you or the others. It’s not like I can throw any of you in jail. I might have a big ego for what I”m about to say..but I also think I mgiht be right. I’ve seen you on your best behavior because my presence make you act that way.”

He paused “Yes, I’m guessing a lot and feel free to destroy my arguments. It’s your job to deflate egos after all”He smile genuinly “And I can take the truth”

[Derek Anderson] (her eyes again)

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I ain’t worried about frenzying on you or some shit. I’m worried about the stuff a Theurge can’t heal.” She smiles, a bit muted. She likes the guy–not in that way, for now at least–but she likes him. And his persistence is endearing. But she also likes him too much to ruin him.

“As for the cop thing…sure, no I know you wouldn’t. But there are some out there who would try. If only to prove a point. They suck, and you don’t…but still.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded “All right. Look..I’m not going to press the issue..not because I don’t want to, but because I like you too much to annoy you. I might be an idealist but I think that if you don’t lose it with me around, you care for me and are faithful…there’s nothing you can do that will scar me mentally. Not the coming home all bloody and in pain, not the going away for a month or two and not the BSD crashing the door because of who we are.

As for my job. I love it, it pays well and I help people. It’s part of me but it doesn’t define me. If I lose the job, I can find something else. And don’t forget I am a cop. I’ve seen weird shit and if I make it ot homicide, I’ll see even more troubling things.

I’m not fragile, of body or mind.” He leaned back “And that’s all I”m going to say on the subject from now on. You know how I feel, how I see things..if you ever feel liek giving me a chance one day. I’ll be here. If not..well we can always continue ot hang and drink”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She smiles a little. She really does like him…only like at this point, but she does like him. She feels kind of bad about letting him down, even easy. But she seems to truly think it’s for the best.

“I promise, D. If the situation ever chances, you will be the first to know. Probably by getting grabbed and thrown in the back of my van for a good, long ride. And I ain’t talkin’ about driving.” She grins and takes a sip off her beer.

[Derek Anderson] He smiled at her “Sounds like a plan to me” He drank some “Don’t worry Sar, I won’t be sitting home and wait. Though you’d be worth the wait and the caring for. But I know you don’t want me to do that. So I’ll live my life and do thing. If it’s meant to be, so be it. If not” He shrugh

“So big plans for the coming week? Or life as usual?” He ask, drinking, changing the subject. There was nothing else to be said. Either she’ll accept she is worth loving or not.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Taking Amy to the Loft. Apartment hunting. Ummm…” She frowns. “Probably some more fights. Intentional and non. Sort of the norm, really.”

[Derek Anderson] He nodded to her “Sounds good to me” He smiled, drank some more as the bartender brought the pitcher he asked. “And you’re sure you want to bring Amy to the loft so soon?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yeah.” She nods a little bit. “I think she’ll fall in love with the Loft. And that will make her less opposed to the idea of them in some small way. It’ll go from there.”

[Derek Anderson] He nod “Have her bring a swim suit then…the pool should secude her…I think it’s magical or something”he said with a grin, remembering his only time at the loft and how things turned out by the pool

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] A laugh. “Yeah, I have already sold the idea of the pool to her. It’s a big plus in the Loft’s favor to her.”

[Derek Anderson] He smiled “True, who wouldn’t fall in love with that part of the loft. I should go again just to enjoy that pool again” He looke at her “Ok..weird question of the night. What do you want out of life Sar? Any goals or dreams?”

He doesn’t know where it came from, but it felt like the kind of question you could ask a Ragabash

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She raises an eyebrow. “Fuck…big picture? Hell if I know. I’m still trying to figure out short-picture, that’s hard enough.” She grins. “Somewhere to belong. A place for me and my sister. Her happy, and me happily driving people nuts.”

[Derek Anderson] He smiled at that “Well I hope it’ll happen. I really hope your sister will find her path and it’ll be alonside you. That it’ll turn out well.” He doesn’t say she deserve it, it sounds corny, but maybe she noticed it in his tone. So he now he was sitting, drinking, watching her, silent. He had asked her many questions tonight, learned about her past, a little about her current life and even a glimpse of her future.

He could ask a thousand more. What color she like, music, movies, all kind of trivial stuff but, it could wait. It felt liek an interrogation enough as it is. Maybe she has questions, maybe she want some silence for the moment. Somehow, being silent with her didn’t make him uncomfortable..or so he thought..it never really happened before come to think of it

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[And faaaade…]]

Leave a Reply

