Chillin’ in Bronzeville

[Amunet Trujillo] “I’m just saying that it’s not going to kill us if we’re not selling here anymore. That’s all.”

She walks quietly and carefully, paying attention to her surroundings even as she talks in a low voice.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Seriously?” She shakes her head as she walks alongside Amy. “There are people out here selling crack to pregnant mothers and kids, and you’re saying that selling pot is the problem?”

[Amunet Trujillo] She sighs heavily. “I’m saying that I have to show him I’m serious, and it won’t look like I’m helping them if I let you deal. It’ll look like I’m helping you.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Not at all. You’re not thinking like we think, Amy.” She takes a drag off her cigarette. “First off, you’re not going to stop drug dealing. End of fucking story. Kill them all, and you have a vacuum that more will fill. What you do is wipe out the worse ones. And the ones who just deal little shit and aren’t cancers on the earth, they stay there to stymy the hundreds of scumbags who will crawl out from under the rocks.”

She looks at Amy. “You know this shit.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I need to get this shit right, Sar. What’s the big deal about staying here?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I make a shit-ton of money and I have many of meth peddlers to shoot at to boot. You really need to ask?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[I have my choice of meth peddlers…]]

[Amunet Trujillo] “And that’s more important than me helping them out?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “You’re not listening to a fucking thing I’m saying.” She sighs. “Jesus Christ. Patrick buys pot out here. So does that Gnawer Lou, I think. Probably most of the Sept who doesn’t buy from me–which is pretty much everyone–buys out here. So I think that dank is not your worry.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Okay. Great. So just do whatever the fuck you want, and I’ll figure out how to not make it look like I’m giving you a free pass. Thanks.”

Her voice has raised a bit, and she lowers it while glancing around to make sure they haven’t drawn any attention. “I just don’t think you realize how much I need this.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “You know what? Fine, whatever.” She shakes her head. “Yeah, sure. I’ll stop selling pot in Bronzeville. I can sell in Cabrini where there are dealers wanting my head for shooting a coke dealer outside of a school. That will actually be more entertaining for me. But here, it’s fine. My regulars can start buying from the guy who cuts his weed with toxic shit. But hey, if you want to look good to Hunter instead of actually fucking FIX anything, then by all means, feel free.”

[Amunet Trujillo] Her eyes narrow, and she stops walking. “What the fuck is that supposed to mean?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I’m saying that I’ve been telling you umpteen reasons WHY it’s a good idea for me to deal here, and you’re not even addressing them. All you’re saying is that it’ll make you look bad.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Then deal here. I can work on the bigger shit.” She’s subdued now, walking again. “There’s lots of shit to keep me busy.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “That’s what I’m saying.” She shakes her head, chain-lighting a cigarette off the butt of the old one and flicking the old into a nearby garbage can. “So what then, you’re gonna be just handling the local beatdown of the shitty drug dealers?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I don’t know I need a plan. Hunter said not to cause trouble, and not to bring John with me when I do.” She half smirks. “It’s like he’s got no faith in me.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She chuckles. “He will. ‘Don’t cause trouble’ is pretty vague, though. Trouble how?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I don’t know. Just trouble.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Fucking with drug dealers is always trouble. Fun trouble, but trouble.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Then I guess I’ll have to behave myself otherwise, hey?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She snorts, amused. “Yeah, that’ll be the day.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Fuck you. I can behave.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yes, I’ve seen you behave in many different ways.” She grins.

[Amunet Trujillo] “I’m serious about this Sar. If the only way I can be around him is doing shit for his pack, then that’s what I’m going to do.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Wait…” She frowns. “We just need to be clear about this. John knows you guys are together, right?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I told you what he said.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “No, not really. You said that you guys went out on your patrol and that you weren’t going to do sleepovers at our place, and that you were going to beat up frat boys.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Maybe on the frat boys. I don’t know. But…. I mean, I told him all that, and he was okay with it. I mean, if he didn’t want me hanging out with him, he would have told me to fuck off. I told him that if he didn’t want me around to tell me to fuck off. He didn’t.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She frowns. “Amy…you and I hang out, occasionally sleep on the same bed and beat up frat boys. We’re on a patrol right now. But we’re not dating.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “You’re my sister. Freak. And I don’t go that way.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “You are completely missing the point.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I told him, Sar. I told him everything, and he took my hand, and he walked me home and slept in my bed which still fucking smells like him. What am I supposed to think?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Why have you not just ASKED him, spelled out?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I spelled EVERYTHING out, Sar.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She looks extremely skeptical, but shakes her head. “Okay, fine.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Fucking what, Sar? Do you think he doesn’t know what I meant?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I’m just trying to look out for you and make sure the t’s are crossed and the i’s dotted. I’m happy for you. It’d be nice if at some point you thought to ask how my days have been, but otherwise I’m happy for you. I’m just trying to make sure nothing happens to make you unhappy.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Which is why I haven’t just spelled it out and asked him” She frowns at the ground, arms around her middle now

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She pauses, looking at Amy. Her face falls. “Because you’re not sure.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I’m sure that he didn’t freak out and I’m sure that he lets me touch him, and I’m sure that I got to sleep next to him and I might get to do it again.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She sighs, and she does something that she doesn’t do all that often. Out of nowhere, without warning, she steps over and hugs her sister.

[Amunet Trujillo] She doesn’t pull away, head rested on Sarita’s shoulder. “I don’t want to push it. I’ll take whatever I can get. I broke shit off with Stefan, just in case.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “This is a terrible idea.” It’s significant that she doesn’t say ‘Don’t do it.’ Her arms squeeze around Amy. “I mean, this is a legendary, watershed moment in the history of terrible decisions made by the daughters of Esteban Trujillo. And that says something.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “One of us is going to be dead within a year. So at least it’s not a long term bad idea.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I fucking hate it when when you say shit like that.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “You know I’m right, though.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Doesn’t matter. Don’t fuckin’ say it.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “You know, My mother picked the exact fucking wrong man to fall in love with. So did yours”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Generally, I tend to wonder if there’s a such thing as the right man.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Probably not.” She pulls away and starts walking again. “Ask him if you want. I don’t give a fuck. I can’t do it though.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “No.” She shakes her head. “It ends just as quickly if I ask. ’cause then he’ll ask you, and you’ll have to get it clarified, and…” She sighs.

[Amunet Trujillo] “Then fuck it. I’m happy with how things are.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She pulls away finally. “How did Homey D. Shadow Lord take it?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “If I had a goddamned ounce of sense, I’d just ride it out with him and see what happens”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Chica, no one ever accused you of having any sense.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Fuck you. If he’s still around when shit blows up with John, maybe we’ll start hanging out again.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “See, that’s smart. You keep a backup.” A half-smile. “Like the Boy Scouts, be prepared.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “It sounds really shitty when you put it that way.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Didn’t mean to make it sound shitty.” She doesn’t say that it’s not shitty, but she’s not trying to call attention to that.

[Amunet Trujillo] “So.” She starts to walk again. “Hunter said no fighting right now.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Okay…” She nods, walking alongside her. “Even in dealing with the drug dealers?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “No, like, with them. No patrols, no hunts, no nothing.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Well, I know that you’re still totally the person to call on when Unbroken needs the kinds of shit that Lukas mentioned done.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Like scouting? Hunter said he was fucking nuts for that, too.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] A roll of the eyes. “Yeah well, pardon me for saying so, but I’ll trust the Ahroun Elder who just became an Adren over Hunter.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Hey, I’m not complaining. I’ll take whatever the fuck they want to give me over nothing.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Dude, you’ve got to see Katherine’s place. It’s pretty bad-ass.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “When were you at Katherine’s?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Saturday night. I was gonna tell you when I woke up, but then I did and there was an Ahroun in the bed. Seemed like a bad time.”

[Amunet Trujillo] She grins a little, brushing her hair behind her ear. “Yeah… Sorry.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She grins. “No you’re not.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Well. I’m sorry you woke up and found us. I’m not sorry he stayed.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Dude, you walked in and I was asleep, and laid down to sleep. That’s like saying ‘I’m sorry you got shot in the ass, but I’m not sorry I took aim and pulled the trigger.” She chuckles.

[Amunet Trujillo] “Could have been worse. Could have been not just sleeping.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “And then we would have gotten to see how well a pissed-off Ragabash does in a fight against an Ahroun and kinfolk mid-coitus.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “So it worked out for everybody just the way it was. So what are you bitching about?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I wasn’t bitching. I just said you weren’t sorry.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I’m not. It was nice. We’ll have to get a motel room or something next time.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yeah, do that.” She chuckles and lights up another cigarette. “It was intimated, by the way, that if we wanted to we’d might have the option of living at the loft.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Wow. Really?” She bites at her bottom lip. “What do you think?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I think that you’ll love the place, for one. Full-sized fucking swimming pool for exercise.” She smiles and shrugs. “S’worth mentioning that it was Sinclair and Lukas who mentioned such, but their seperate wordings were, and I quote, ‘If you or your sister take up a room here, she’ll probably be thrilled’ and ‘you know you can crash here and Kate would probably be ever so stoked if you did.'”

She shrugs. “It’s something to think about. I do like the fact that we can keep an eye out for when Kyle decides to actually show up. Oh and hey, did you know that Gina is right next door to us now?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Who’s Gina?” She’s clearly lost in her own thoughts.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Gina?” She gives Amy a ‘If looks could kill’ expression. “You know, the Strider kinfolk you said you were gonna talk to like, two and a half weeks ago?”

[Amunet Trujillo] Blink.

Fuck.

“Oh. Right. Gina. Sorry. I thought you said Tina.” Mina. Sabrina? Fuck.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Dude.” She shakes her head, sighing, and looks ahead as they walk.

[Amunet Trujillo] “Fuck. I’m sorry, Sar. I totally spaced it.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Just talk to her at some point.” She shrugs. “Anyway, what do ~you~ think?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Yeah. Because I’m a great fucking example of Strider kin, right?” Her nose wrinkles, then she shrugs. “I don’t know. Might not be the worst thing to have somewhere that we can split our time.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yeah, maybe.” She nods. “I mean, I like the Brotherhood. But privacy is relatively minimal there.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Yeah, I know. Trust me.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Hey, I ain’t a big fan of it either.” She grins.

[Amunet Trujillo] “Though having him sleep over at the Broho is a fuck of a lot safer than having him sleep over at Katherine’s.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Um. Yeah. I think that’d be bad.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “So, Lukas still wants to send me out on shit?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Of course. Why wouldn’t he?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I don’t know. Hunter just has me all paranoid now. Like I’m going to get that taken away too.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Dude, fuck Hunter. Hunter can eat me.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “You would totally fuck Hunter if he wasn’t a True. Don’t lie.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “As much of an ass as he is sometimes? Hatefuck at best.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Some of my best fucks have been hatefucks.” She shrugs, steps slowing a bit.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Well yeah, so have mine. Doesn’t mean I’d admit to them.” She looks over as she slows down. “What?”

[Amunet Trujillo] She nods at an alley across the street. “That warehouse. Some Fomori kidnapped a kin and killed her there.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] Her brow furrows. “How do you know?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “He told me.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Oh.” She looks over at the warehouse and frowns. “Jesus.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Yeah. Shit is bad down here.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “That doesn’t surprise me, I guess. Kinda Detroit-ish.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Isn’t that kind of a shit hole?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I believe it hits ‘hellhole’ status.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Probably, yeah. Lot of shit happened here. We’ve got our work cut out for us.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Of that, I have little to no doubt.”

[Hunter Matthews] They hear a car coming from down the street behind them, if they turn they’ll see Hunter’s black Impala roaring along and then rolling to match their pace beside them. A window comes out, Hunter leans an elbow out of it and sticks his head out too.

“Ladies, what brings you two round these parts?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She looks over, grinning when she sees Hunter. “We got toined around and Albukoike.” She doesn’t do a bad Bugs Bunny voice. “Hola, chico. What’s shakin’.”

[Amunet Trujillo] She rolls her eyes, giving Hunter an apologetic smile and seeming just a little more tense than she just was.”

[Hunter Matthews] He keeps rolling along, elbow out the window and a grin on his face at what Sarita has to say.

“Long way from home Owlets. You two catch anythin’ cookin’ on your little walksy?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “‘Scuse me, I prefer the term Owlerina. Owlet sounds like something you use to wipe town your hands with after you pee. Also, I’m one fuckin’ graceful bitch.” She gives him a wink, then shrugs. “Naah. Ain’t really looking. Sometimes you just gotta get outta the house, you know?”

She gives a light shrug. “What about you? Having a fun evening?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[wipe DOWN. I swear, work drains away my ‘can type correctly’ skills. :P]]

[Hunter Matthews] A bark of laughter at that and he nods his head.

“Right right, my bad, Owlerina’s then.”

Eyes flick to the road and then back to them.

“Evenin’s been alright, just let a glass snake spirit run free in china town, it looked like it enjoyed eatin’ elementals, I have a feelin’ it ain’t the last we seen of it.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I like Owlet.” Maybe she’s being contrary, maybe she really likes it.

“I was telling her about stopping the dealers, and showing her some of the stuff I saw yesterday.” Her expression shows a flicker of jealousy, but she keeps it in check.

[Hunter Matthews] He looks to his right, sees the warehouse rolling away behind them and then looks back to the two Striders.

“Oh yeah? John tell you about that?”

Tense lips, he doesn’t seem cross though.

[Amunet Trujillo] She nods. “Yeah. The alley where the Spirals were camping, too.” She gestures in the vague direction, looking even more tense.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Hey Hunter…got a curiosity question.” Her head cocks to the side. “What’s your take on pot and pot dealers as opposed to say, meth pushers?” A quick glance to Amy, then back.

[Amunet Trujillo] She shoots a quick glare at Sarita, stopping and crossing her arms.

[Hunter Matthews] He taps on the breaks, his car comes to a halt and he takes his hands off the steering wheel.

“What you mean?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I mean…okay. So like, on the spectrum of 1 to 100, where 1 is ‘Decent, regular honest folks’ and 100 is ‘That creepy guy who sells crack to pregnant junior high school kids,’ where does your average marijuana dealer lie?”

[Hunter Matthews] “Why, you got any?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I am SO not answering that until you answer first.”

[Hunter Matthews] “What??” He laughs, “You got any or not? JoJo fuckin’ raged back the other night, we need to get blazed. Don’t hold out on me I know you’re good for it. I know what peeps been sayin’.”

[Amunet Trujillo] Sarita gets a half hearted death glare, and she leans back against the wall with her arms crossed.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She laughs. “See, this is what I get for being a nice girl an’ bein’ generous with a couple folks.” She doesn’t seem to mind, though. She reaches into her pocket and hands him a decent-sized bag. “That should last you a good long while. You’re lucky I kinda like you, even if you are an ass. Cuttin’ into my profit margins.”

[Hunter Matthews] “You don’t want no cash?”

He blinks, takes the bag and throws it onto the passenger seat.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Generally, I’m cool with our peeps. Make enough of the regs that I don’t need to worry about it, unless someone gets over the top.” She shrugs. “We all gotta mellow out from time to time.”

[Hunter Matthews] “Aight.”

Hands go back to the steering wheel.

“Hey to answer your question. Fuckin’ hate em. Meth-labs burnin’ down every fuckin’ day in this part’a town. They spread their disease and with it comes fuckin’ illegal prostitution, robbery, gun fights, all that petty shit n’it draws out banes’n the wyrm. All sorts of nasty crap. I’d run em all out if I had the time. Don’t give a fuck bout’ no weed though.

You two take care ye’?”

He offers a jaunty salute and the window rolls up, Hunter rolls off.

[Hunter Matthews] [PEACE, thanks for the scene!]

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[Thank you too!]]

[Amunet Trujillo] “Ever get fucking tired of being fucking right?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Never.” She smiles. “Hey, it’s win-win. You still get to look good, and we still bring in the dough. Plus I gave Da Man a goodwill gift that should help keep him on the good side. You’re welcome.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Fuck you.” She grins a little though, pushing off the wall. “We should get him to let us come smoke with him next time.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yeah, that’d be a good idea. Be nice to hang out and be chill.” She nods her head. “C’mon, let’s get home.”

[Amunet Trujillo] She glances around once more, just to make sure that they’re not going to see him. “Yeah. Okay.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She arches a brow and then shakes her head, smiling despite herself as they head back to the van.

Leave a Reply

