The Birds and the Bees

[Amy] She was cranky when she made her way back to the room late last night. At least whoever wandered into the room in a dress and heels ~looked~ like Amy. Without saying a word, she changed, went to wash her face, and crawled into bed.

This morning she was awake early, though she hasn’t actually made any move to get up yet. Instead, her face is buried in her pillow as she takes in deep breaths.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] Sarita was there when Amy got home, already asleep. She was gone when Amy woke up though, off who knows where. While Amy laid there, the door opened slowly and quietly, and the smell of coffee emanated from the door.

Coffee was not the first thing to come, though. The first thing to come was a Ragabash jumping on Amy’s bed. Not on top of Amy–she manages to avoid landing on her sister–but she lands on the bed with a big old bounce. “Morning, sunshine!” She’s too damned cheery.

[Amy] A long moment passes before she actually looks up at Sarita, refocusing out of wherever her thoughts had wandered off to and giving her sister a big smile. “Hey. I smell coffee”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She furrows her brow, seeming disappointed. “Dude, you’re supposed to be like, bitchy or stab me or shit. You’re no fun.”

She winks and jumps off the bed, walking over to get the coffee. “Sooooooooo?”

[Amy] “I’ll sucker punch you when you’re not expecting it, ‘kay?” She sits up, yawning widely. “So, what?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Sooooo….we didn’t get a chance to talk last night.” She brings a cup of hot caffeine over, handing it to Amy. “Talk at me. Throw me your thoughts.”

[Amy] “They don’t want to fight much, hey? That’s what I do. It’s fucking ALL I do. I don’t know. I kind of drifted away after a while, to be honest.” She sniffs at the coffee and sighs happily before taking a sip.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yeah, they don’t wanna fight much.” She takes a seat, cracking the window and lighting a cigarette. “Also, lemme break this down a bit. Leon couldn’t keep from hiding the fact that he was jealous you touched John’s fucking leg. Owen called you an ‘it.’ And this is the social pack?”

She grins, exhaling a drag out the window. “That’s like trying to douse a fire with napalm.”

[Amy] “Yeah, and that was before I fucked him. Jesus.” She shakes her head, sipping at the coffee. “Sounds like the Fang is the one that wants to be in charge though, you know? He seemed more or less okay. I didn’t have any overwhelming urges to punch him in the face.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yeah no, he seems cool.” She nods. “And he seems to have considered everything I tried poking holes at, so that’s a good thing. I think he’s got a great idea and yes, we could contribute. I just think the pack roster is wrong and it’s just not our kind of thing, really.”

She takes a drag, pauses, and then speaks up again. “I’m not saying we tell them flat-out no right just yet. I wanna keep our options open, and barring unexpected developments, I want a certain amount of time to pass between you letting Leon down easy and us declining. Unless you’re delaying the letting him down, then we can do that in the reverse order.”

[Amy] “Well, I came home last night, so he’s got to have some idea that whatever grand fucking plans he has aren’t going to happen.” She shrugs again, pulling the blanket up over her and sniffing at it. “Again though, not like we’ve got other people beating down our door. I don’t want to piss off anybody and wind up fucking you out of a pack.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Don’t worry about fucking me out of a pack, Ames.” She shakes her head with a chuckle. “There are much bigger issues with that concept than the fact that Leon’s got some Puppy Love going on.”

She takes a seat on her bed, rolling her neck. “Besides, I may have some irons in the fire. Nothing remotely concrete yet, but…I’m making friends. We’ll see.”

[Amy] “It’s not even that, I don’t think. It’s like… he thinks he’s got some kind of claim on me.” She scowls at nothing for a second, checking her phone before refocusing on Sarita. “What kind of irons?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Wait, whoa, wait.” She raises her eyebrow. “Go back a step. He thinks WHAT?”

[Amy] “I don’t know what the fuck he thinks. It’s not like he’s crushing on me though. It’s like…. He’s training me, you know? So he’s all responsible for me and shit.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] Her eyes narrow. Whatever there is about that has the Strider seriously pissed off. “The FUCK he is.”

[Amy] “No, he’s not.” She looks at Sarita fully, frowning. “Nobody is.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Amy, you’re kind of missing the point here.” She takes another drag off the cigarette and then flicks it out the window. “If he claims you under his protection, and he’s responsible for you, then you’re more or less associated with whatever pack he joins. You know I don’t think I’m responsible–quote, unquote–for you, but we’re a fucking team, you and I. And if he’s trying to make out that he’s responsible for you, then he could essentially snipe you.”

[Amy] “Then I just don’t let him claim me. Which goes along nicely with my plan of not letting anybody fucking claim me. I’ve got a trump card, Sar.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “What, John?” She take a lean against the wall, settling into a bit of a sulk at Leon’s nerve. “Did you break that news to him yet?”

[Amy] “Guy like that isn’t going to take me being with hi one night and a metis the next very well. I haven’t said anything yet, no. That’s not my decision to make. We’re a team, like you said.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Okay.” She nods a little bit, tension slipping away from her shoulders. Amy’s mollified her for the most part. “This is why I wasn’t too keen on the idea of him training you. He’s getting these grand ideas in his head. I was wondering about that training shit when Matthieu was all, ‘Yeah, we won’t be fighting much.'”

A little smirk suddenly. “At least homey dreams big.”

[Amy] “Yeah, but it’s a True that’s willing to train me. I haven’t had much luck finding that.” She picks at a loose string on her blanket. “It’s my fault anyway, for fucking him because John pissed me off.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Well, let’s just get you some other True to train, and then it’s all good.” She walks back over to her bed and hopes into a laying position. She sighs, rolling onto her side to face her sister, curled up a bit.

“Anyway, I don’t have anything concrete, but I’ve been making friends, and those friends have packs. We’ve talked about that.”

[Amy] “Get me a unicorn while you’re at it. And maybe we can have tea with the Tooth Fairy. It’s not that easy to find a True that will train me, Sar. Nobody else is offering.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Well, I would, but you know what I know.” She shrugs. “Have you talked to John about it? Homey can fight.”

[Amy] “I haven’t talked to him since the other night.” She takes a too big drink of coffee, letting it burn her throat on the way down.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She cocks an eyebrow, looking over at her half-sister. “Your choice or his?”

[Amy] “I texted him” She shrugs and gets up finally, digging for a cigarette. “Whatever. Fucking drama bomb waiting to explode anyway. Fuck it.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Well, he might be busy doing pack shit. Just give it some time.”

[Amy] She shrugs again, lighting the cigarette before starting to pull the sheets and blankets off her bed.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She watches Amy for a minute. “Oh hell. You’re not getting all emo about him on me, are you?” She smirks a tough, the tone teasing. Well, mostly teasing. And warmly so, not particularly malicious.

“You gonna start cutting his name into the inside of bathroom stalls?”

[Amy] “Fuck off. This is why I never let the fuckers sleep over. Everything fucking stinks now.” The bottom sheet is ripped off a little more forcefully than necessary, and she holds the cigarette between her lips as she peels the cases off the pillows.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She snorts and walks over to give her a hand. “Jesus, chill. Cut the Tough Bitch reaction to the whole thing. A guy doesn’t call for twenty-four frickin’ hours, you give up on him. I’ve seen high school girls with more patience than you.”

[Amy] “He kissed me.” She takes a drag off the cigarette, blowing the smoke in the general direction of the window, but not bothering to actually walk over to it. “I let him kiss me. Which probably doesn’t mean fuck to him, but…” She sniffs at the pillow, then drops it in the pile to be washed.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yeah, I know.” She gets the mattress slipcase off. “Did you explain to him what it meant to you? Because otherwise…well, you know that most girls aren’t the same way you are about being kissed.”

[Amy] “No. Wasn’t really the time to get into all of that, you know? You want your shit washed too?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Not unless you’ve been fucking on my bed, naah.”

[Amy] “Keep it up and I will, bitch.” She flops back onto the bare mattress, knocking ash everywhere.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Do and you’ll disturb the dead hooker I’m putting in the mattress. I don’t think you wanna disturb a dead hooker.”

[Amy] “Depends on how dead. Fresh, and she’d be all uncomfortable. But after a couple weeks, you’d have some waterbed shit going on.” She grins and drags from the cigarette.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Wow. I get you coffee, and you make me wanna bring up by breakfast. That’s fair.”

[Amy] “If you don’t want my opinion, don’t threaten me with dead hookers.” She sits up and uses her toes to check her phone, then punts it a few feet across the floor.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “DUDE. Stop breaking your fucking phones.” She frowns. “It’s back enough that I have to buy myself new ones repeatedly. You’re too busy doing the guy to guy mamba to score some cash, so you don’t get to break your phone.”

[Amy] For a moment, she looks like she’s been suddenly and completely unexpectedly slapped. The expression is quickly replaced by a frown of her own though. “Fuck you. I’m not fucking breaking anything, first of all. You want fucking money?” She hops up and digs through her bag, throwing a thin roll of cash at Sarita. “There’s your fucking money. Shove it up your ass.”

Scooping up the sheets from the floor, she stalks out of the room. Either she’s forgotten that she’s just in her underwear, or she doesn’t care.

[Amy] (Intermission. Cues music.)

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[*Waves to the Damon*]]

[snail] [*waves back!* at werk. slow! why’s there nothing to spy on?]

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[Awww. Ange had to go to the store and got delayed. She should be back soon, and then you can spy away!]]

[snail] [:D *waits for entertainment*]

[Amy] (Back!)

[snail] [w00t! *audience falls into expectant hush*]

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She blinks as Amy throws a fit and stomps out. She certainly wasn’t expecting that. The Ragabash looks at the money in her hand, looks back up at the door. A moment, and her jaw clenches. So does her hand, crumpling the cash. She walks out the door, following Amy.

“Hey, hold up for Christ’s sake. Get back here. You’re half-naked and if Milo comes sees you’ll give him a damned heart attack.”

[Amy] “Fuck him, too. Jesus fuck. I’ve got more balls than he does. If he’s never seen a pair of tits before, that’s really not my problem.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[“If Milo sees you you’ll give him…” rather]]

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] Oh my god, it’s like dealing with a child, she thinks. Just one who uses up all the condoms and smokes my weed. She rolls her eyes and follows Amy to the laundry room, shutting the door and leaning against it. She looks at the other woman with a glare.

“What the fuck was that about?”

[Amy] She’s got her nose buried in the sheet when Sarita comes into the laundry room, and looks immediately sheepish, then pissed as she shoves the sheets into the washer. “What was what about? He’s the pussiest fucking Garou I’ve ever met. Cubs included.”

[Amy] (Poor Milo ๐Ÿ˜€ )

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Not that, Jesus Christ.” She shakes her head, choosing to pretend that she didn’t just see Amy playing sheet-sniffer. Internally, she can’t decide whether it’s creepier than her sniffing someone else’s sheets, and her brain would rather not try to figure it out. She shakes her head.

“I mean your little tantrum in the room.”

[Amy] “You expect me to not get pissed when you make it sound like I’ve always got a dick in me? I’ve been doing shit, Sar. Not fucking everything is making nice with the locals.” She adds too much detergent, slamming the lid shut and turning the washer on.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “You don’t want to get called out on it, then don’t go busting up your phone because you didn’t get your text on time.” She scowls, the her fist clenched tightly around the cash as it rests on her hip. She’s got a foot back against the door, so they don’t get busted in on. That would be awkward.

“Also, I’m not saying you’ve always got a dick in you. But if you can’t take the jokes, do something about it. All this a-MAAA-zing shit you’ve been doing, fuck if I would have any idea. I keep telling you all my developments. What have you been up to?”

[Amy] “I didn’t bust my phone. Can we just not fucking talk about fucking texts? And I’ve been setting shit up, Sar. Meeting people that aren’t Nation. Getting us ins and fucking outs for shit. Who’s the one that ALWAYS makes sure there’s a cop we know? Who makes sure there’s people that want to fucking help us out when we need it?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She frowns a little, her anger sucked out a bit by that. She’s clearly not done though–are the two siblings ever?–and she keeps on going, albeit with that telling pause.

“And see, if you’d told me you were working on that shit, I wouldn’t be pissed. You ain’t said shit about it. I didn’t know that you were, since I told you that Richard got me a contact among the beat cops. Plus I’ve got my pot supplier. And…and you haven’t told me anything.” Yes, she’s repeating herself. She’s got one solid argument here at this point, and she’s ramming that one home.

“So yeah. I can’t not be pissed about shit I don’t know about.”

[Amy] “When do I ever tell you that I’m getting us set up, Sar? I just fucking do it. That’s my job.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Yeah, but it was different here, because of my P.I. buddy. I just…figured it would be different.”

Okay, she seems to know she’s in a corner here and there’s no bell coming to save her this round. She’s in full-on gloves-up mode at the moment. She’s then pauses a moment. “Besides, let’s face it. This isn’t about me or what I said.”

Rope-a-dope! Rope-a-dope!

[Amy] “What the fuck is that supposed to mean?” She’s still looking at the washer, fingers flexing into and out of fists at her sides.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “C’mon, Amy. The checking the texts, the kicking the phone, the sudden washing of the sheets that smell like him. You’re pissed ’cause you haven’t heard back and I gave you the chance to take it out on me.”

She spreads her arms a bit. “You can hit me if you want. I’m healed up.”

[Amy] “I don’t want to hit you, Sar.” She sounds very tired, suddenly. “Hitting you isn’t going to make me feel any better.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I can not speak and do sign language when you hit me. Would that help?”

What, Sarita not make jokes? She’s almost incapable of it, at least in the long-term. And it’s been ten whole minutes since her last one. She smiles a little, but it’s faint. There more concern in her eyes than amusement.

[Amy] “Let me the fuck out of the room.” Her voice sounds strange, as if the words are choked out.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Fuck ’em. Anyone wants to do laundry, I’ll give ’em change.” The smile slips away. “Talk to me. What’s up in that dome o’ yours?”

[Amy] “I don’t have any fucking clue.” She wipes at her eyes with the back of her hand, still trying to hide her face with her hair by keeping her head down. “I don’t know what the fuck is wrong with me.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “You gotta give me something to work with. Woman cannot work ‘Making It All Better’ Magic on guesses alone.”

She cocks her head to the side. “Tell me what you’re thinking and what you’re feeling. We’ll start from there.”

[Amy] “Can you think of another time when I’ve been pissed because I got ignored the next day? Because I can’t. Usually, I’m pissed off because they won’t leave me the fuck alone. So if you know what that’s about, by all means fix it.” She hops up to sit on top of the washer, goose flesh covering her legs from the cold metal.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She shrugs. “You’ve got it bad. That’s not a particular surprise, all things considered and with what’s gone down with you guys so far. He’s kind of your perfect guy, to boot. Well, if he’ll teach you to kick ass, at any rate.”

[Amy] “What, because I fucked him? That’s not exactly something I get all emotional about.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She gives Amy a deadpan look. “Think about it. What happened differently?”

[Amy] “Jesus, Sar. I’ve fucking thought about it, okay? I don’t KNOW” She sighs and pushes her hair back. “Leon wants to date me. Those were his exact words.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She shakes her head when Amy says she doesn’t know. “Sometimes, there’s just chemistry that makes things a bit different. It isn’t about anything that he does or says. Though I had a feeling you were gonna be like this when you didn’t kick his ass after the kiss thing. That’s what it is. You guys seem to be a match, so…you’re in deep. Welcome to it.”

When Amy says Leon said he wants to date, she rolls her eyes. “Yeah, that’s what I thought. He’s totally angling for a mate and claiming you and the whole shebang.”

[Amy] “He said he could claim me, but won’t. I told him that if he tries, we’re gone. Just like Denver.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Mm. I like being here, so if he tries to claim me, I’m going to just beat his ass into paste.”

She frowns, realizing something. “Wait. Are you saying that you said yes to dating him?”

[Amy] “I didn’t tell him no. I don’t want to fuck up our chances with the pack.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Well, I think they did that pretty well on their own. But yeah, fair enough.” She shrugs. “Give him an honest answer. Delaying shit will only make it worse. We can say yes or no later.”

[[And pause so I can be magey!]]

[Amy] (Yes, Damon. We’re being abandoned for Mageyness!)

[snail] [ack! *LOL* there goes my at-work entertainment.]

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[Lurk on Mageyness! ๐Ÿ˜€ ]]

Leave a Reply

