A Brief Chat With Kyle and Amy

[August]
August gathers the infant from the carrier as she stirs and makes a few cooing noises in the baby’s direction before turning her attention back to Amy.

“How long have you been in Chicago? Do you like it so far?”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“About a week. Came with my sister. I like it enough already. How do you know Kyle?” She tries desperately to ignore the baby, seeming almost unnerved by it.

[August]
The baby made some content noises and began sucking on it’s fist (yes, she was trying to put the whole thing in her mouth). Yup, it was gonna be cute.. almost as if to further bother the other kin!

“Awesome.. welcome. Your sister kin too?” A beat. “I’ve known Kyle since shortly after I got here. He’s always been super sweet to me and helped save my behind from a spiral once.. so I’ll always owe him.”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“I never said I was kin. We’re Striders. He mentioned that. Showed me the scar.”

[August]
“Sorry.. guess I just assumed since I don’t see Kyle chatting with many Trueborns..” She shrugged apologetically.

[Amunet Trujillo]
She wrinkles her nose up, then sighs. “I’m Strider kin.”

[August]
“It’s nothing to be ashamed of or anything Amy.. there’s a lot of us around here – we kinda look out for each other.” She smiled softly.

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Thanks, but I don’t need anyone to look after me. I can handle myself.”

[August]
“I’m not saying you can’t..” She just trailed off, shaking her head some. August wasn’t going to bother to try to explain her point to the woman – clearly it wasn’t going to be heard.

“So.. are you staying here?” She clearly meant at the Brotherhood.

[Amunet Trujillo]
“For now, yeah. We’re crashing in Kyle’s room. He’s a good kid”

[Kyle]
The smell of food preceeds Kyle as he wanders up the stairs. He’s got a tray piled with food. Ther’es potatoe wedges, sandwitches, cakes and a few bottles of soft drink. Wanders in with that usual smile and sets the tray down so eveyrone can get at it.
“Well I don’t think she complains as much as most babies do.”
Thinks they’re talking about the baby

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Goddamn, kid.” She flashes a grin at Kyle, reaching for a sandwich and soda. “That’s service there.”

[August]
Mmm.. potato wedges. Damn those looked good. Kyle knew exactly how to get to a pregnant woman’s heart.

She glanced down at the baby in her arms who was just happily eating her own fists as Kyle mentioned little Ella. “Na.. for a possible ahroun.. she’s a good kid. Too good to be True.. despite what the spirit speakers say..”

[Kyle]
Grins as he sits down and grabs some food.
“Hope it’s to everyone’s liking. Oh they say Ella is a full. Gee that’ll be fun for you when she can start talking. Remember a few kids I grew up with always having an interesting temper. No surprise they were all fulls.”

[Kyle]
(damn. brb)

[August]
“Here’s hoping her having to be a big sister will give her somewhere to focus all that pent up angst and what not. Still.. ” she playfully poked the baby’s nose, which got a grin in response. “I still don’t really buy it. She’s too sweet.”

[Amunet Trujillo]
She concentrates on her sandwich, still trying to ignore the small human that August is holding.

[August]
August scooted on the couch some – and somehow.. ended up a little closer to Amy with aforementioned small human. However, it wasn’t some plot to annoy her.. it just happened to be how it worked out so that August could get some nummy fried potato goodness.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She ascends the stars up to the common room, skipping every other step. She grins a bit as she looks around, seeing the three in the vicinity of the couch, and slides the duster off her shoulders as she approaches. “Buenos nochas, amigos and amigettes. S’up?”

[August]
“Well hello!” Comes the cheery response from the blonde kin on the couch.

[Amunet Trujillo]
“August, this is my sister. Sar, August. She’s friends with Kyle.” Amy scoots away from small human again.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She looks August over appraisingly and smiles. “Well, so far any friend of Kyle’s is a friend of mine, so pleased to meet you.” She drapes the duster over the back of a chair and moves to take a seat on the floor, stretching slightly before she offers her hand to August. “Sarita Ecos de la Risa. Strider No-Moon, Cliath, et cetera, et cereta.”

[Kyle]
Gives his customary wave and broad smile in greeting to Sarita. Then realises something and while everyone is distracted quickly puts his leather collar back on. Now he realises why the guys in the kitchen kept looking at him oddly.

[August]
“Always good to have new friends.” She remarks quite honestly.

“A pleasure to meet you, Sarita.. I’m August Grant.. a Child of Gaia kin.. and mother of this little bundle here..” whom she lifted on cue so the other woman could see the light skinned, hazel eyed and reddish haired infant. “Ella.”

[Kyle]
to August, Sarita Ecos de la Risa
Kyle’s throat is a massive mess of scar tissue. He’d forgotten to put his leather collar back on after showing Amunet

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She smiles widely at seeing the infant. “Cute. Good genes, clearly.” If she noticed what Kyle was trying to cover, she at least calls no attention to it, just giving Kyle a smile instead. “Hope we’re not ruinin’ the room while we’re crashing. I told Ames that the yak was a bad idea.”

[August]
Mid chew through a potato wedge. “Yak?”

[Kyle]
“Nah the room is fine. Just next time leave the otters outside. They upset the koala you left under the bed.”
Smirks as he takes a bite from some food and looks to August with a grin.

[Amunet Trujillo]
“I told you the otters were a bad idea.” She nudges Sarita with her foot.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“But they’re so cuddly! And they do those cute little human things with their hands….”

[August]
August just grinned, shook her head and continued munching on the food Kyle brought up. She was pretty sure that if they wouldn’t let her and her baby stay here.. the Trueborns wouldn’t be good with other animals..

[Kyle]
Looks to August as he notices her smile
“Nice to see you smile. You weren’t in a good place when we last say each other. Things improving for you I hope?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She leans over to Amy while Kyle and August talk, keeping her voice low so as not to override their conversation. “Have a good day?” She pulls out a small wad of cash and hands it over.

[August]
“Yeah. I’m in a better place.. and he hasn’t tried to show up and bother me.. which is always a plus. There’s always going to be some hurt as long as we’re in the same city.. but things are going fairly well considering.”

“I got this job down at a bar downtown.. it’s a blast. Gets me out and meeting new people all the time. This lady I used to work with at the shelter watches Ella.. and I get to make some cash and have fun – it’s a win win really.”

[Kyle]
“That’s great. I’m glad things are looking up for you. Just be sure to keep an eye out. I hear there’s a few more nasties wandering around.”
There’s something honest in the way he talks. He was happy for her but also concerned.

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Goddamn, Sis. How many tricks is that?” She grins, taking the cash and stuffing it in her pocket. “Yeah, but not as good of a day as you did, apparently.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She chuckles. “Yeah, well, a couple of those bills almost turned into a shootout, so be appreciative. Potheads are morons.”

[August]
She chuckled a bit and snagged another fry like item. “You do recall my excellent bad guy radar.. right?” Clearly, a bit sarcastic, but in a playful manner.

[Kyle]
“Oh that’s right. If they’re shirtless and charming then they’re not bad guys. I’ll keep that in mind.”
Snickers as he winks at her and grabs one of the sodas.

[August]
“Right..” She nodded with a grin. “I appreciate the concern though..” It was more than what her own tribe was offering.. but.. eh, she was doin her best to avoid most of them at the moment.

[Amunet Trujillo]
“We knew that though, right?” Her eyes flicker over August and Kyle quickly before she looks back at Sarita with a nod. “I’ve got the appointment with that guy for the apartment tomorrow. So that’ll be good.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“Which guy and which apartment again?”

[Kyle]
“Well if you ever get stuck and need a hand let me know. The guys here can track me down in no time.”
Motions downstairs since given his voice there was no point owning let alone using a mobile phone.

[Amunet Trujillo]
“The guy that thinks we’re undercover and are going to bust his ass if he doesn’t make us a sweet deal.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“Oh, right.” She snickers. “Awesome.”

[August]
“Thanks Kyle, you’re a real sweet heart.. and I mean that in the most sort of masculine way I can..”

[Kyle]
Takes a look at his rather skinny self and chuckles.
“Got to make up for the lack of outer muscles don’t I?”

[August]
She just grinned. “We all do what we have to I suppose..”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Goddamned right awesome. You’ve got your thing, I’ve got mine.”

[Kyle]
Glances at Amunet and Sarita, unsure exactly what they’re going on about before looking back to August.
“Oh and should ask how bub 2 is treating you. No problems I hope there.”

[August]
“So far so good.. not sure how I’m gonna handle two on my own – but I guess I have two hands, so it’ll be fine.”

She wrinkled her nose. “ew.. Alright, I’ve got to go change the little one.”

As she stood, “Nice to meet you Amy and Sarita.. I’m sure I’ll see you around. And Kyle, have a good night.. we should get together for lunch or something sometime soon.”

With that, she gathered her things and disappeared into the bathroom.
{I gotta head to bed, night all!}

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“Yep. We’re like the Wonder Twins of petty street crime.”

[Kyle]
“Sure thing August. Take care.”
Gives a wave to August as she heads off.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She looks at August ans smiles. “Adios, chica.”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“So. She was nice.” The kin is considerably more relaxed now that the child is gone.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“She seemed so.” She looks at Amy, brow raised curiously.

[Kyle]
Looks to the pair and gives a casual shrug.
“SHe’s had a rough time. All sorts of problems from her tribe. I really should keep in touch with her more often just to make sure things are ok with her.”
Absently nibbles on some of the food in his hand.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“Ay. That sucks…”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“She sure seems happy to be popping them out.”

[Kyle]
Shakes his head at Amunet’s words.
“Complicated situation that one. But that’s only what I have from her side. So you both manaaged to find a place in the city to call home?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She shoots Amy a sidelong glance at that comment, before looking back. “Maybe. Depends on mi hermana here.”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Working on it.” She nods. “Guess we’ll find out if I still have the magic touch tomorrow.”

[Kyle]
“No comments”
Chuckles as he shakes his head and looks at the pair.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“I’d bet money against her, but if I lose then it’s pretty counter-intuitive to our plans.” She winks.

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Hey, a girl has to make a living somehow.” She smiles back at Kyle.

[Kyle]
“Hey it’s your life. Not one to judge.”
Sips his drink with that casual grin

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She tosses a grin Amy’s way. “You see why I like this guy so much?” She winks at Kyle, settling back to lay on the floor.

[Kyle]
He can’t help but blush at Sarita’s response. Lots of reasons in that reaction but it’s good to see his face get a little color for a change. Absently eats another couple of wedges.
“Oh I forgot to mention. If you’re looking for me and I’m not here, let the guys downstairs know. They can track me down pretty quickly.”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“They know where your secret lair is or something?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“Or you could just give me your cell number and I can text or call you if we can’t find you…”

[Kyle]
“I haven’t got one since I can’t talk on them…”
Yeah he tried the whole cell phone thing and it was more trouble than it was worth

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“They got this great thing called Texting these days. Fantastic.” She shrugs. “But point made…sorry, my bad.”

[Kyle]
“Yeah I got tired telling people not to call me.”
Chuckles as he sips his drink

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She grins. “Okay, I can totally see that.”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Way to be insensitive, you bitch.” Amy nudges at Sarita.

[Kyle]
Now that gets him laughing, doing his best not to laugh too much so he ends up in another coughing fit.
“It’s all good. It’s the people who keep telling em to speak louder that I tend to want to punch.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“Hey, I’m always game for punching someone if you want me to.” She smirks. “Just sayin’.”

[Kyle]
“I’ll keep that in mind. Must say it’s nice to have family around with a sense of humour. Seen way too many all sour and gloomy in my travels.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
She shrugs. “We’re the irrepressible sort. Ain’t no point in staying all dour and pissy, y’know?”

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Irrepressible. Irresponsible. Incorrigible. Pick one.” She nods.

[Kyle]
“Tripple I. Sounds like a good way to live.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
“Or all of the above. We’re not the kind to get locked down.”

[Kyle]
to Amunet Trujillo, Sarita Ecos de la Risa
(I’ve got to bail. Thanks for a fun scene 🙂 )

[Amunet Trujillo]
“Tied, maybe. But not locked.”

[Amunet Trujillo]
to Kyle, Sarita Ecos de la Risa
(That works. I should be in bed by now. 🙂 Thanks for the scene.)

[Kyle]
“No I doubt anyone could lock you both down and that sounds kinky.”
Standing he stretches a little and smile.s
“Well I need a shower. I’ll catch up with you ladies later.”
Grins as he heads out of teh common room

[Kyle]
(Night all. Thanks again 🙂 )

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa]
[[Nini!]]

Leave a Reply

