Two Girls, New Town

[Amunet Trujillo] Gangland, Chicago. Certainly no place for two young women, yet here they are, parking the van and hopping out to explore as if they’ve just arrived at Disneyland. Amy slams the door behind her, checking her jacket pockets to make sure she has everything she needs and stomping her feet.

“Jesus fuck it’s cold. Seriously. You couldn’t know somebody in fucking Florida or something?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She slides out of the driver’s side door of the VW Bus and moves around to Amy’s side, looking around with a smirk. “If you’ll recall, that’s where I was when you came into my life. Trust me, we ain’t missin’ all that much. And I don’t think we’d particularly like Texas, either.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “It’s warm. I’d like it” Her eyes dart around to take in their surroundings. “This place is a shithole, Sis.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She lights up, exhaling a drag as she looks around. She nods, although unlike Amy she looks like she’s enjoying taking in the breakdown of urban society that lies around them.

“Yes. Yes, it most certainly is.” She chuckles. “I don’t mind telling you, I think I’m a little excited.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Yeah” She grins, obviously in agreement. “So, does this friend know what the fuck, or is it not that kind of friend?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I’d say that he knows a lot about the fuck, though I think I’m speaking in a far more literal fashion than you.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “If I’m freezing my ass off so you can get laid, we’re going to fight. You know what I mean.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She grins and shakes her head. “Relax, I didn’t come here for the deep dicking. Which, for the record, was not as deep as he would have liked it to be. But he is useful, and he’ll be getting us settled in. In a non-sexual way.” She takes a drag from her cigarette. “And no, he ain’t ‘in the know,’ so to speak.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “So we still have to find out where to go and shit.” She leans on the side of the van, reaching over to pluck the cigarette from Sarita’s fingers and taking a long drag before handing it back. “Is he cute?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Eh, kinda.” A shrug. “It wasn’t a Love Connection or anything. But he does have his charms. Mostly, the ones that lead to his P.I. databases.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “That’s pretty goddamned charming.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “You ain’t just whistlin’ Dixie. Or…whatever the Dixie equivalent in Chi-Town is.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “So what’s our plan, then. Do we have a plan?” She looks around again, then frowns. “I’m thinking motel room myself. Hot shower, hot meal. Really fucking hot shower.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Samn…you’d think you were the one who grew up in New Mexico.” She grins and winks at Amy. “But yeah, that’ll be a good start. Shouldn’t be too rough to find the ol’ H to the Q.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[Damn, even.]]

[Amunet Trujillo] “You think this place is anything like St, Louis?” Her nose wrinkles in distaste at the idea. “I think there was a Super 8 or something back there. We’re going to have to get some cash together soon.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She shrugs. “Hopefully it’ll be better than there. We just need to get started on the right foot. Which means being upfront, don’t forget”

[Amunet Trujillo] Her nose wrinkles more, but she nods. “Yeah. I know.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She smiles, and then looks around again. “There is one plus side, though. The bigger the places like these, the easier it is for to raise funds my particular way.”

[Amunet Trujillo] She grins and reaches for the door handle of the van. “Get on it then. Bitch, where’s my money?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She laughs at that. “Hey, no. I only work the streets in my hooker boots for fun.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Gross.” She hops back into the van, twisting around in the seat to root around in her bag in the back.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She grins and climbs back into the driver’s seat. “I think I got enough for a night for us. And hey, we filled up the tank already, so no need to siphon gas in the first week. There’s a win.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I’ve got some too. Plus the rings still. Let’s find someplace decent tonight. Think there’s any decent Chinese around here?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “If there is, I know we’ll sure as fuck find it.” She stubs the remnants of the smoke out in the ashtray and starts up the van. “I have a hankering for some of that poultry that General Tso personally raised, axed and prepared.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “You’re fucking weird.” Small notebook dug out of the bag, she twists back around and settles in as she scribbles notes. “I need a Coke too.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Caffeine and MSG’s. Can do.” She starts driving, keeping an eye out for a semi-tolerable hotel and a Chinese place.

“Whatcha chicken-scratchin’?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Just shit I don’t want to forget” She pages back several sheets to reference something, then continues scribbling. “Think we’re going to be the only ones here again?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Certainly not outside the realm of possibility. When your peeps find themselves predisposed to a life on the road, it’s always possible, even in a city this big.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “It would be nice to run into somebody else for a change, though. I can still smell your goddamned Corn Nuts. Nasty.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “What can I say? I’d never tired ’em before.” She makes a left. “always gotta stay open to new experiences.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Funny how when it’s your idea, it’s a new experience, but when it’s my idea, it’s being fucking unreasonable.” She glances to Sarita with another grin, then watches a burned out husk of a house as they drive by it. “Shithole. Total shithole.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I’d say it’s more like a four-fifths shithole. You wanna see a TOTAL shithole? Try Los Angeles.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I thought that was all glamorous and shit.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She snorts. “Yeah, and New York has hip-hop stars chilling on the steps of Battery Park with R&B singers playing the piano. The rich and glamorous are there, but they’re safe behind several walls.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “How long since you’ve been there?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Hell A? Couple, three years. New York, a little bit longer. I didn’t exactly make friends in the Big Apple.” She points out a motel that only looks like a partial wreck. “How about there?”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Doesn’t surprise me. You’re kind of a pain in the ass” Her head shakes “Let’s find a chain something, hey? That place looks like a Wyrm Hilton, and I’m too goddamned tired for that right now.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She chuckles. “Fair enough. Hopefully there’s something a little down the road where you won’t have to make ’em go ay-ay-ay as you shoot across the sky, sky, sky.” She pulls through the intersection, heading for a slightly nicer part of the area.

[Amunet Trujillo] “Oh! Pizza!” She starts twisting around to take in their surroundings. “They’re supposed to have that special pizza. That’s what we should get”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] The chuckle turns into laughs, and she looks over at Amy with a grin. “Yeah, cool. We can do that. Never had Chicago-style while actually IN Chicago.” A brief pause. “Which would make sense, ’cause I’ve never actually been in Chicago before now.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “So where do you know what’s his fuck from?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Richard. From a little shitty city in the vicinity of Indianapolis. He moved here about a year ago.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Call him up and tell him he’s buying us dinner. There’s a Red Roof.” She gestures to the motel with her pen.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She looks ahead and smiles. “Perfect.” The bus is quickly maneuvered to the closest parking meter, where she pulls to a stop.

[Amunet Trujillo] “Nice.” She pulls a few IDs out of her pocket and starts to flip through them. “Who haven’t we used in a while?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “I think I was Rosa in the last city…Sonja in the city before that.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Muriel it is then” The others are shoved back in her pocket before she hops out of the van. “Be right back”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “A’ight.” She kicks back, relaxing as she lights up again.

[Amunet Trujillo] She comes back not long after with two key cards. Back in the van, she gestures. “Back building, second floor, half price. How much do you love me right now?”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She grins. “Well, we’re related by blood and I don’t play for the appropriate team, but if both weren’t the case I’d be all over you at the moment.”

[Amunet Trujillo] She makes kissy faces at her. “Yeah yeah. I’m fucking irresistible. It’s a curse. I’ll fist fight you if you try to get the shower first.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Naah, it’s all you.” She chuckles and shrugs. “You down with the shower first, or food? Makes no nevermind to me.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “Shower. Definitely shower. I reek.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Hey, you said it. Not me.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “It’s true. I can be honest about that.”

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] “Fair enough. Shall we, then?”

[Amunet Trujillo] The door is opened with more exuberance than is strictly necessary, and she bounds in. “Go check shit out on the other side, hey?” She’s already dropped her bag on one of the beds, and is peeling off clothing on her way to the bathroom.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] She shuts the door behind them with a smirk. “Oh, sure. You get the fun showers, I get to check and see how bad the Bane problem in our room is. That’s fair.”

[Amunet Trujillo] “I’d do it if I could.” The words float out as the water starts to run.

[Sarita Ecos de la Risa] [[Aaaand fade!]]

Leave a Reply

